Beefy Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I'm so glad I chose this recipe. I did have to make a few minor changes. I had to mix beef and chicken broth. I used 1-10 oz. can diced tomatoes and 1-10 oz. can original rotel. I added browned ground sirloin and some garlic. I didn't have potatoes so I threw in some frozen hash brown patties. My husband, who usually doesn't like leftovers, wanted this several days for his lunch. None went to waste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This soup is very hearty, we enjoyed it! I think I might leave out the celery next time just as a personal preference. A great winter comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This was an awesome soup! I didn't use cheese or noodels. Instead I put in cabbage, black beans, and stew meat. This is a great winter soup. It's easy to cook and has a yummy flavor and great color. I have already passed this recipe along to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I made this soup for my daughter & family after they came home from a long Thanksgiving trip we all loved it. It will be one I make oftern. maggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I changed the recipe and added 6 cups of beef broth. I also omited the vegtables and I added frozen vegtable mix, can of diced potatoes, and chopped up onion. I used no yolk egg noodles. I also added 4 tablespoons of tabasco sauce. I sprinkled parmeson cheese on the top. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Fast and easy ! Yummy! I did add a pound of ground beef mini meat balls ( size of marbles) Fun job for the kids. Just added some bread crums, seasoned salt and Italian spices to the meat. Bround them and tossed them in with the rest of the stock. The wife was very pleased :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIETRICHD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This was a great hearty soup! My husband loves things that are tomatoey so he was very pleased. I didn't have any celery so just increased the other amounts and used canned beans as fresh were not so great and you wouldn't know the difference. Made a fresh loaf of bread to complete the meal. P.S. The cheese really makes the difference--don't leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Great soup. Additions: Strips of chuck roast(1 lb.) Browned in 1 tbsp olive oil, 8-10 mushrooms cut into chunks, 2 cloves of garlic, 1/2 lb of asparagus (break into 1 inch pieces), 2-3 turnips diced. Cook seashells separate and add when served. Thanks Lalena!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
I added about a cup of fresh mushrooms and substituted crushed tomatoes for the diced. I boiled whole wheat small shells separately so they wouldn't get mushy in the soup. As I did eliminate the potatoes (less carbs), I think I should have used less broth or, better still, added more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This is terrific! I added about 1/3 lb. beef strips and used 3/4 cup alphabet noodles as I have so many on hand. I think it would be a great base for Maryland crab soup, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States