Beefy Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
We love this soup and make it often. I add stew meat and double the recipe so that we have leftovers. We add the pasta right before serving instead of adding it to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is an all-time favorite soup in our household now! My fiance gave me the greatest compliment he's ever given me....He said it tasted just like something his grandmother would have cooked up. I did deviate from the recipe a bit, but not much. I used ground turkey instead of beef to lower the fat and calories, and took the suggestion of adding a bit of hot sauce. (About 3/8 of a teaspoon) But to add a little spice and pep I also added Celery Seed, Lemon Pepper and Cumin to spice up to both the meat and the soup itself. Just a pinch or two of the three spices in the meat when cooking, and about a quarter teaspoon in the soup while it cooks. My Fiance has grown so fond of this (As well as myself) that we now make double batches to freeze. The spices freeze well, and pep up a bit more when warmed back up, perfect for a rainy or cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becka B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Made this soup with ground beef, and canned corn. The corn was put in at the last minute. Very good recipe, although some spices could have been put in such as oregano, thyme, or basil. Just not sure how much, little, or otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Good just after making but better after sitting in fridge a few days. I used Kitchen Basics Beef Stock, swapped peas for the green beans and used fresh corn. Cooked about half a cup of orzo in the soup then added the shells which were cooked out of the soup. Added a bag of frozen chopped spinach, a can of Ranch Style beans, and a little browning sauce to punch up the color. Great way to clean out the pantry, fridge and freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Yum, I have made this twice and both times it was excellent, perfect for a cold night. I let mine cook in crock pot on low all day, will be making this many times, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very easy and quick to make. I did make some changes for my growing boys. I added 1 lb of ground beef cooked with 1 tbsp of drid Italian seasoning and 1 packed of Italian dressing mix. The tomatoes used all had seasoning (garlic, oregano, basil, etc.) I omitted the last 4 ingrediants of the recipe because the salt and pepper were not needed and we had pasta for lunch, I did not want it for dinner. My three boys(7 month old, 19 month old and 6 year old) loved the soup. This is a keeper. I served it with the corn muffins I from this site. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was good and I will make it again with some adjustments. I prefer more tomato taste and less broth. I added Italian Seasoning and the flavor was good. Just not a 5 star for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
We love it. I simmer stew meat to add and also put in mushrooms and a few dashes of seasoning. The kids love when I use the Crazy Mac vegetable pasta. I just add it before serving so it's not mushy. I usually can some for later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
The soup was excellent!! I did make a few adjustments; used frozen vegetables, sauteed celery and onions together and than added to liquid. I cubed two baked potatoes from last night's dinner and cooked ditalini noodles sepera
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Thank you for the great recipe! It tasted awesome!! However, I did use some of the suggestions left by others. I added some Tabasco (Which added to the flavor,and didnt give a big kick). I also added a few Bay Leaves, and then made the noodles seperately. Due to the soup simmering. It wouldve made the noodles way too mushy. I also made grilled cheese to go with it. Just a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States