Beefy Rice Salad Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
These were magnificent! I made this for the welcome home party for my sister a few days ago. I doubled the rice and avocado as well. She loved them. I usually prefer stuff like this to be warm, but that's just me. Maybe I'll try one cold next time. Delicious recipe. Definitely unique as stated above, but I don't think the picture does it justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is my husband's new favourite recipe except for a one major change, we had a lot more vinegar. We don't end up putting it in a sandwich either just eat it by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Overall it was not that challenging to make and received a fairly positive response from the guys I was cooking for. However I felt it could have used a little more flavor. My suggestion would be to season the meat to taste, and then follow the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarahtea
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Delicious! I love this recipe! I enjoy mild flavors, so I enjoy this recipe as is, and find the flavor stronger the longer it sits on my tongue. However, I read over the reviews just before eating it this time and noticed something: this meal has anti-flavor. There's something strange about it: normally when I add spices to plain food, the spices determines the flavor. In this recipe, the plain dominates. It's hard to taste even the avocado unless I really try. I don't know why... perhaps it's the dressing? Next time, I might try using store-bought Italian dressing in place of the olive oil and rice vinegar. Notes: I added garlic powder and yellow bell pepper, and omitted tomato slices. Also, my rice vinegar was not seasoned. The fresh parsley is an important component of the flavor -- dried isn't nearly as flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
the other reviews make me think its just me, but this recipe needs serious help. My husband and I though it was seriously bland and kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I followed the recipe to a "T" and it's a wonderful light meal. Would be great for a summer lunch. My hubs said this is a definite meal to repeat! I think next time I'll add some cucumber and use the whole avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This is a great light meal. I substituted scallions for the onion, used italian parsley, added 1/2 a Jalapeno, and created my own flavored rice vinegar by adding lemon pepper to Aji Mirin rice vinegar. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Great recipe! So far we've just tried it cold (refrigerated the mixture) in warm pitas. It was flavorful but not overpowering. The fresh parsley added some great flavor and the avocado was a nice addition. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Very tasty recipe! I added 2 cloves of chopped garlic. I also added chopped cucumber to the finished recipe for a little added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This was great served cold on a spinach topped toasted whole wheat bagel bread. I doubled the rice and avocado, and just used a roasted red pepper and parmesan vinegarette. I added the tomato to the salad. Delightful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States