Beefy Rice Salad Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is my husband's new favourite recipe except for a one major change, we had a lot more vinegar. We don't end up putting it in a sandwich either just eat it by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Overall it was not that challenging to make and received a fairly positive response from the guys I was cooking for. However I felt it could have used a little more flavor. My suggestion would be to season the meat to taste, and then follow the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarahtea
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Delicious! I love this recipe! I enjoy mild flavors, so I enjoy this recipe as is, and find the flavor stronger the longer it sits on my tongue. However, I read over the reviews just before eating it this time and noticed something: this meal has anti-flavor. There's something strange about it: normally when I add spices to plain food, the spices determines the flavor. In this recipe, the plain dominates. It's hard to taste even the avocado unless I really try. I don't know why... perhaps it's the dressing? Next time, I might try using store-bought Italian dressing in place of the olive oil and rice vinegar. Notes: I added garlic powder and yellow bell pepper, and omitted tomato slices. Also, my rice vinegar was not seasoned. The fresh parsley is an important component of the flavor -- dried isn't nearly as flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
the other reviews make me think its just me, but this recipe needs serious help. My husband and I though it was seriously bland and kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I followed the recipe to a "T" and it's a wonderful light meal. Would be great for a summer lunch. My hubs said this is a definite meal to repeat! I think next time I'll add some cucumber and use the whole avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This is a great light meal. I substituted scallions for the onion, used italian parsley, added 1/2 a Jalapeno, and created my own flavored rice vinegar by adding lemon pepper to Aji Mirin rice vinegar. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Great recipe! So far we've just tried it cold (refrigerated the mixture) in warm pitas. It was flavorful but not overpowering. The fresh parsley added some great flavor and the avocado was a nice addition. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Very tasty recipe! I added 2 cloves of chopped garlic. I also added chopped cucumber to the finished recipe for a little added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This was great served cold on a spinach topped toasted whole wheat bagel bread. I doubled the rice and avocado, and just used a roasted red pepper and parmesan vinegarette. I added the tomato to the salad. Delightful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States