Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Teenage boys liked it and it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
The soup was delicious very thick and creamy. I didn't add the sour cream the soup was so rich on its own. My husband said it's the best soup that he's had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This soup is so yummy! perfect for a rainy day served with bisquits or rolls I used sirloin steak and a little extra barley- the sour cream is a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
This is a great beef mushroom barley soup. I even left out the sour cream completely, and it was still hearty, nutritious, and delicious. I will make it again and again for those cold nights. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I thought this soup was wonderful. I used about a cup of the quick cooking barley and 4 cans of beef broth. At the end I had forgotten about the sour cream, but was so good that I didn't miss it. I will be making this again soon and with the sour cream. It was a big hit with my "meat and potatoes" man. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Wonderful! Just wonderful! I made some changes to fit our family's tastes. I used 8 oz. of London broil and only 8 oz. of mushrooms. I used 3/4 c. barley which required 1-2 c. more water. You might want to add another bouillon cube. After I browned the beef, I added 6 cups of water and 1/2 c. red wine (a must for a full-bodied beef soup) and simmered it for an hour while I prepared the vegetables and sauteed them. Then I added the barley to the beef broth along with 4 c. of water and simmered until the barley was tender. I added the vegetables right at the end and heated through. I, too, forgot the sour cream. But it was so yummy, we didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This will be a family favorite for a long time to come! Adding wine to the broth was a must - we also doubled the barley. We had it once with the sour cream and once without - the kids preferred no sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Wonderful comfort food. I increased barley and skipped the sour cream and it was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This came out excellent. I ended up making it twice in one week. I followed some of the other's suggestions. I doubled the barley, used 4 cans of beef broth and one can of chicken broth (no bouillon), and added a third cup of wine towards the end as well - it was delicious! I tried it once with fresh thyme from the garden (added it towards the end) and that added a nice flavor to it. If you double the barley, add more liquid, else the barley will soak up all the soup and you will have stew. I tried it once with regular mushrooms and once with half fresh shitake mushrooms. The shitakes gave it a little better flavor in everyone's opinion, but it was great both ways. I tried it once with small meatballs (Italian wedding soup style) since I didn't have a beef roast in the house. This was terrible. Definitley stick with a decent shoulder or other roast cut into small cubes. This soup is best the second day so make plenty extra. Serve with a good crusty french loaf toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
We loved this. I adjusted it to make a stew, so I used more barley, and a little less liquid. I also cut down on the fat by not adding any vegetable oil or margarine - the beef was seared in a dry cast iron pan, then piled into a casserole dish with the cut mushrooms (not cooked), onion, celery, stock cube and liquid. After an hour of simmering in the oven, I added the barley, carrot and garlic and adjusted the seasonings by adding a little cayenne pepper, dry powdered mustard seed, white pepper, and a shot of worcestershire. I let it simmer for an hour more. I removed the larger pieces of beef and chopped them to roughly 1/2 inch size. I finished the stew with fresh parsley and omitted the sour cream. Instead, I sliced some cucumber and radishes together and dressed them with a little light sour cream, dill, & black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States