Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
My husband and I loved this soup. I made this in my crock pot and used three kinds of mushrooms. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA LASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Redgranite, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This is so good. We love barley and don't like mushrooms, so I leave out the mushrooms and double the barley. I also cook it a lot longer so the meat melts in your mouth. I use PAM instead of the vegetable oil when I brown the meat and I cover the soup while the barley cooks. The only other seasoning I added was black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. The sour cream really makes the soup's flavor pop! Great as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Teenage boys liked it and it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Good soup that was easy to prepare. I substituted 1/2 of the water with 1/2 cup of red wine, as others suggested. It definitely needs more barley, at least a 1/2 cup. I also added a little more sour cream than was called for. To save on sodium, I used one regular bouillon cube and 2 pkts. of bouillon powder, which only have 5 mg. of sodium per packet. A good hearty winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
We loved this. I adjusted it to make a stew, so I used more barley, and a little less liquid. I also cut down on the fat by not adding any vegetable oil or margarine - the beef was seared in a dry cast iron pan, then piled into a casserole dish with the cut mushrooms (not cooked), onion, celery, stock cube and liquid. After an hour of simmering in the oven, I added the barley, carrot and garlic and adjusted the seasonings by adding a little cayenne pepper, dry powdered mustard seed, white pepper, and a shot of worcestershire. I let it simmer for an hour more. I removed the larger pieces of beef and chopped them to roughly 1/2 inch size. I finished the stew with fresh parsley and omitted the sour cream. Instead, I sliced some cucumber and radishes together and dressed them with a little light sour cream, dill, & black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This came out excellent. I ended up making it twice in one week. I followed some of the other's suggestions. I doubled the barley, used 4 cans of beef broth and one can of chicken broth (no bouillon), and added a third cup of wine towards the end as well - it was delicious! I tried it once with fresh thyme from the garden (added it towards the end) and that added a nice flavor to it. If you double the barley, add more liquid, else the barley will soak up all the soup and you will have stew. I tried it once with regular mushrooms and once with half fresh shitake mushrooms. The shitakes gave it a little better flavor in everyone's opinion, but it was great both ways. I tried it once with small meatballs (Italian wedding soup style) since I didn't have a beef roast in the house. This was terrible. Definitley stick with a decent shoulder or other roast cut into small cubes. This soup is best the second day so make plenty extra. Serve with a good crusty french loaf toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Wonderful comfort food. I increased barley and skipped the sour cream and it was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This will be a family favorite for a long time to come! Adding wine to the broth was a must - we also doubled the barley. We had it once with the sour cream and once without - the kids preferred no sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I skipped the sour cream and cooked it longer than suggested for a thicker base. Very good, overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States