Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. The sour cream really makes the soup's flavor pop! Great as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Teenage boys liked it and it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Good soup that was easy to prepare. I substituted 1/2 of the water with 1/2 cup of red wine, as others suggested. It definitely needs more barley, at least a 1/2 cup. I also added a little more sour cream than was called for. To save on sodium, I used one regular bouillon cube and 2 pkts. of bouillon powder, which only have 5 mg. of sodium per packet. A good hearty winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
We loved this. I adjusted it to make a stew, so I used more barley, and a little less liquid. I also cut down on the fat by not adding any vegetable oil or margarine - the beef was seared in a dry cast iron pan, then piled into a casserole dish with the cut mushrooms (not cooked), onion, celery, stock cube and liquid. After an hour of simmering in the oven, I added the barley, carrot and garlic and adjusted the seasonings by adding a little cayenne pepper, dry powdered mustard seed, white pepper, and a shot of worcestershire. I let it simmer for an hour more. I removed the larger pieces of beef and chopped them to roughly 1/2 inch size. I finished the stew with fresh parsley and omitted the sour cream. Instead, I sliced some cucumber and radishes together and dressed them with a little light sour cream, dill, & black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This came out excellent. I ended up making it twice in one week. I followed some of the other's suggestions. I doubled the barley, used 4 cans of beef broth and one can of chicken broth (no bouillon), and added a third cup of wine towards the end as well - it was delicious! I tried it once with fresh thyme from the garden (added it towards the end) and that added a nice flavor to it. If you double the barley, add more liquid, else the barley will soak up all the soup and you will have stew. I tried it once with regular mushrooms and once with half fresh shitake mushrooms. The shitakes gave it a little better flavor in everyone's opinion, but it was great both ways. I tried it once with small meatballs (Italian wedding soup style) since I didn't have a beef roast in the house. This was terrible. Definitley stick with a decent shoulder or other roast cut into small cubes. This soup is best the second day so make plenty extra. Serve with a good crusty french loaf toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Wonderful comfort food. I increased barley and skipped the sour cream and it was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This will be a family favorite for a long time to come! Adding wine to the broth was a must - we also doubled the barley. We had it once with the sour cream and once without - the kids preferred no sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I skipped the sour cream and cooked it longer than suggested for a thicker base. Very good, overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Hi there! I thought this was pretty good! I followed another reviewer's advice and poured in half a cup of red wine. Also, I decided to make the soup with egg noodles instead of barley because I made a soup with barley a few days ago and several people in the reviews here said this soup tasted a lot like beef stroganoff. I also replaced the carrots with broccoli. I'd recommend this because it gives the brown soup very pretty bright green color and tastes great! And I used a full cup of sour cream since I used so much more liquid. I had to use a LOT more water than the recipe said, and wasn't sure if I should add the water the beef was cooking in to the soup, so I just added a little bit and boy was I glad I didn't pour it all into the soup! It would have been like an oil slick on top!! Last of all, the soup had good flavor, but didn't seem very "deep". It seemed like it would have been good if it were a little thick, so next time I'll try cooking it with a roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Wonderful! Just wonderful! I made some changes to fit our family's tastes. I used 8 oz. of London broil and only 8 oz. of mushrooms. I used 3/4 c. barley which required 1-2 c. more water. You might want to add another bouillon cube. After I browned the beef, I added 6 cups of water and 1/2 c. red wine (a must for a full-bodied beef soup) and simmered it for an hour while I prepared the vegetables and sauteed them. Then I added the barley to the beef broth along with 4 c. of water and simmered until the barley was tender. I added the vegetables right at the end and heated through. I, too, forgot the sour cream. But it was so yummy, we didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States