Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This soup is delicious! I put more barley in, though as I like it, and aso added green onions. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This was so good! I didn't have beef on hand so I used pork and it was still very flavorful. The sour cream makes the soup. I also doubled the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This was deeelicious! I doubled the barley, added fresh thyme while sauteeing the veggies, and about 1/2 cup of red wine near the end. I skipped the sour cream (didn't have any). The kids would only eat the beef out of it, but whatever, they think boxed mac-n-cheese is haute cuisine. It's a good, hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Yummy! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Great cold weather soup! I used leftover pot roast, portocini mushrooms and extra barley (increased water as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Great soup! For thicker soup use more Barley, meat lovers add more meat, I used a mixture of Shitake and Regular Fresh Mushrooms, chopped small since a few members of my family do not like mushrooms. They thought the soup was wonderful and had seconds! Half water, half beef broth (I used Knorr's)and Merlot Wine. Upped the sour cream also. Double the recipe or you will be sorry, it goes fast. Another great meal with salad and a crusty loaf of bread. Thanks Karen for a great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
My husband loved this and would give it a 5 star rating. I didn't like it and would give it a 1. It was too beefy for me. I liked Susan Shulka's, Cheesy Vegetable Soup 2, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
My husband and I loved this soup. I made this in my crock pot and used three kinds of mushrooms. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA LASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Redgranite, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This is so good. We love barley and don't like mushrooms, so I leave out the mushrooms and double the barley. I also cook it a lot longer so the meat melts in your mouth. I use PAM instead of the vegetable oil when I brown the meat and I cover the soup while the barley cooks. The only other seasoning I added was black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. The sour cream really makes the soup's flavor pop! Great as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States