Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Delicious, but I did make adjustments. First, I simmered the beef in 1/2 water, 1/2 red wine. I let it simmer longer than just while I was chopping the vegetables. I used about 6 cups of beef broth and 2 cups of water, and added 1/2 tsp thyme, 1/2 tsp basil and 2 bay leaves to the soup. I let the soup simmer for about an hour with the beef, seasonings, onions, garlic. I didn't saute the mushrooms and carrots with the onions an garlic, instead I threw them in later with the barley (after simmering soup for about an hour). I doubled the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This would also make a good Vegetarian Mushroom soup just omit the beef. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I will definitely be making this again. It does need a few more boullion cubes though, not quite enough flavor. Also more barley for sure. A very good soup on a rainy day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcelle Malillo Maggio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Good! I used chicken instead of beef and doubled the barley. I would definately recommend either doubling the barley or reducing the broth. Nice, earthy flavour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Awesome! Added the bay leaf and extra barley with extra water. Cooked the meat with the oil and added a cup of Merlot as it simmered. Simmered it a good long time to make it tender. When I added the meat with the veggies I added more Merlot. Used all the veggies called for plus parsnips...my personal favorite. Used what I had on hand...3lbs of stew meat, so I adjusted the recipe for the extra meat. Don't forget the sour cream at the end..I did. But added it to the last few bites and I have to say, I liked it better with the sour cream. So did the rest of the family. But, it was good either way. The writer that mentioned not to put the drippings in with the veggies was right. Added flavor but had to skim lots of oil off the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This soup is delicious! I put more barley in, though as I like it, and aso added green onions. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This was so good! I didn't have beef on hand so I used pork and it was still very flavorful. The sour cream makes the soup. I also doubled the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This was deeelicious! I doubled the barley, added fresh thyme while sauteeing the veggies, and about 1/2 cup of red wine near the end. I skipped the sour cream (didn't have any). The kids would only eat the beef out of it, but whatever, they think boxed mac-n-cheese is haute cuisine. It's a good, hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Yummy! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Great cold weather soup! I used leftover pot roast, portocini mushrooms and extra barley (increased water as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States