Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was a winner. It was delicious, healthy and filling. Also easy to make. I also added a splash of red wine which I think really added to the flavour of the broth. Even without the wine, I think this would have been great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I used my crock pot for this soup which I felt melded the flavors together better, and the beef was very tender and not chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Librarian from Colorado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This is a great recipe and can be adjusted in so many ways. I floured the beef cubes and browned them, then cooked them in a crock pot for a couple hrs. before adding the rest of the ingredients. I used a full cup of barley as suggested and beef broth instead of water. I had some leftover canned corn and threw that in as well and it turned out super !! It was thicker like a stew which was hearty and yummy ! I omitted the sour cream - didn't need the added calories !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
fabulous we loved this has great flavor, one draw back and there is not enough barley in it. I put a 1/3 cup in and it not enough next time I will try a cup of barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made this last night and with a few tweaks, it was great! I used 2 pounds of trimmed sirloin, cubed and coated it with corn starch. I heated a bit of oil in a pan and then added the meat. After it was a bit browned, I slowly added in 7 cups of beef broth (Progresso), which thickened using the corn starch, and let it cook for an hour with a bit of thyme, garlic powder, ground black pepper and a hint of salt. Then I threw in one pound of baby carrots, three stalks of celery, half an onion and a pound of mushrooms (all sliced and/or diced) with 3/4 cup of barley. With the last cup of broth, I added a bit more corn starch to make a slurry, turned up the heat, and it really made it nice and thick. I topped it with a bit of sour cream and we didn't think it added anything, so I don't think it's necessary. Mmmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Very good! With just a few changes, this is a keeper! Instead of bouillon and water, I used beef broth and chicken broth (as suggested by another reviewer). We prefer a leaner cut of meat, so used round steak cut into cubes. I added more barley and sauted it with the veggies. The sour cream is definately a good touch. This will be an excellent crockpot recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was wonderful! Those who wanted it added the sour cream at the table. It is fabulous as is and easy to modify if you want additions, subtractions or just don't have exactly what is called for on hand. I did use fresh mushrooms and beef soup base. Thanks for this recipe that makes such a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as written, and I was hugely disappointed. It was bland and had very little depth of flavor. Perhaps it would have been better if I had used some red wine or beef broth versus just water and bouillon cubes. Sorry to be a downer on a well rated recipe, but I followed it exactly and daughter and I ended up going out to dinner instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Delicious.... especially now with this cold weather. Added 1/2 glass of cooking wine to deglaze and get additional flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
turned out wonderful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States