Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Everyone loved it. Next time will make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I doubled this recipe and I'm glad that I did! My family loved it. It was my first time using barley and I'm glad I gave it a try. It was hearty and had great flavor. Thanks for the great recipe, I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This soup was AMAZING! I followed the recipe pretty closely except for adding 1 cup barley and using the liquid I boiled the meat in plus 1 cup chicken broth for extra liquid. I figure I'll scoop the grease off the top after I refrigerate the soup for a night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drella
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This soup was so delicious and so easy. I made a few changes to the recipe. Before I browned the meat I sprinkled it with paprika, montreal seasoning and salt and pepper. After I browned the beef cubes in oil I simmered it for about an hour in a cup of water and a 1/2 cup of red wine (I used cab. sav). I sauteed all the veggies in butter,except the mushrooms which I added after the broth, then added the meat, three cans of beef broth (about 6 cups) and barley. I doubled the amount of barley which I pre-soaked in a half cup of water. I also added another half cup of wine along with sea salt, pepper, paprika, dried oregano and basil. The soup had so much flavor, I think the wine was the key ingredient. I added the sour cream in the first bowl and once I stirred it in it had a really unappetizing look, I skipped it in the second bowl and thought it was better without it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Love this recipe, and I add a bay leaf and triple the barley. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Try Braising Beef With Flour,Salt,Pepper And Oregano In Oil. Add 2 Cups Of Beef Broth And 1/2 Cup Of Red Wine. Complete Step 2. Add Meat And 6 Cups Of Beef Broth And 1 Cup Of Barley. Adjust Liquid And Seasonings. Omit Sour Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very bland. Made as written except to double the barley as suggested by others and it had no taste. Had to add a lot of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very yummy and hearty soup! I took into account some other reviews and here is what I did. First off, I only had some striploin pieces, so sauteed those first with some beef and steak seasoning. I then added half water and half red wine (a full bodied cab/sauv) and simmered while I chopped the other veggies. I used almost a full pound of cremini mushrooms with the other veggies and sauteed in some spray oil. At that point, I decided I was going to throw everything in my crockpot as it was not quite 2pm, so I knew it had some time to nicely simmer. I ended up using 5 cups of beef broth along with another cup of red wine and a full cup of barley. Cooked on high for about 5 hours. Did not add the sour cream in mostly b/c I forgot, but I probably could have used a good cup extra of liquid (ie: broth, water or wine) as it was (imo) a bit thicker than a soup. Regardless, it was excellent and I really look forward to enjoying some leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a great starting point...and one with so many wonderful suggestions that helped create a truly 5 star soup.....using suggestions from earlier reviews, I used about 1/4 cup of flour, with freshly cracked pepper, a pinch of dried thyme and a pinch of rosemary to season the meat before browning in olive oil. Then simmered the beef with 2 cups of beef stock, 2 cups of chicken stock (the magic ingredient, in my mind) and 1 cup of Merlot (or any decent red wine). (Use low sodium brands if possible). I also add a few spoonfuls (maybe 1tblsp total) of "Better than Bouillion" for the concentrated beef taste and a splash of worchestershire sauce...... Simmered for a least 2 hours or until the beef was nice and tender. Sauted the veggies in some olive oil.....added an extra carrot, a parsnip, used fresh baby portabella's that were diced instead of sliced.....and added to the soup pot along with a full cup of barley and another cup each of merlot and beef broth ..Cooked for another 70 - 80 minutes or so. As the barley cooked, I adjusted the amount of liquid as needed (adding your choice of beef broth/stock; water and demi-glace or a product like "better than bouillion" or wine. Forgot all about the sour cream....I'll try adding that when I have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Thanks Karen! Loved this soup :) I used beef broth (1 box) plus one small can of chicken broth. I also doubled the barley. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States