Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Love this recipe, and I add a bay leaf and triple the barley. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Try Braising Beef With Flour,Salt,Pepper And Oregano In Oil. Add 2 Cups Of Beef Broth And 1/2 Cup Of Red Wine. Complete Step 2. Add Meat And 6 Cups Of Beef Broth And 1 Cup Of Barley. Adjust Liquid And Seasonings. Omit Sour Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very bland. Made as written except to double the barley as suggested by others and it had no taste. Had to add a lot of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very yummy and hearty soup! I took into account some other reviews and here is what I did. First off, I only had some striploin pieces, so sauteed those first with some beef and steak seasoning. I then added half water and half red wine (a full bodied cab/sauv) and simmered while I chopped the other veggies. I used almost a full pound of cremini mushrooms with the other veggies and sauteed in some spray oil. At that point, I decided I was going to throw everything in my crockpot as it was not quite 2pm, so I knew it had some time to nicely simmer. I ended up using 5 cups of beef broth along with another cup of red wine and a full cup of barley. Cooked on high for about 5 hours. Did not add the sour cream in mostly b/c I forgot, but I probably could have used a good cup extra of liquid (ie: broth, water or wine) as it was (imo) a bit thicker than a soup. Regardless, it was excellent and I really look forward to enjoying some leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a great starting point...and one with so many wonderful suggestions that helped create a truly 5 star soup.....using suggestions from earlier reviews, I used about 1/4 cup of flour, with freshly cracked pepper, a pinch of dried thyme and a pinch of rosemary to season the meat before browning in olive oil. Then simmered the beef with 2 cups of beef stock, 2 cups of chicken stock (the magic ingredient, in my mind) and 1 cup of Merlot (or any decent red wine). (Use low sodium brands if possible). I also add a few spoonfuls (maybe 1tblsp total) of "Better than Bouillion" for the concentrated beef taste and a splash of worchestershire sauce...... Simmered for a least 2 hours or until the beef was nice and tender. Sauted the veggies in some olive oil.....added an extra carrot, a parsnip, used fresh baby portabella's that were diced instead of sliced.....and added to the soup pot along with a full cup of barley and another cup each of merlot and beef broth ..Cooked for another 70 - 80 minutes or so. As the barley cooked, I adjusted the amount of liquid as needed (adding your choice of beef broth/stock; water and demi-glace or a product like "better than bouillion" or wine. Forgot all about the sour cream....I'll try adding that when I have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Thanks Karen! Loved this soup :) I used beef broth (1 box) plus one small can of chicken broth. I also doubled the barley. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Oh boy, I was REALLY pulling for this soup and it was delicious but there are a few things I would change. I did simmer the beef in half water half red wine, but it was still too tough, I think it would make more sense to make this in the crockpot to help tenderize the meat. Also, sauteing the veggies in butter made the finished product fairly greasy (even after I drained the beef), so I would use olive oil next time, although again...using the crockpot would eliminate the need for a sauteing agent. I also added some thyme and parsley for flavor. And I doubled the barley and it still wasn't the main player I thought it would be, so i thought about increasing it next time. Now, after I thought about all these changes I would make next time, I essentially realized that I would practically be making an exact copy of my beef stew recipe. i was hoping for a new recipe but this one is very similar. But it's so good I think I will hold onto it anyway. now I will say, it is very tasty, and if you choose to make this soup instead of beef stew, don't leave out the sour cream. It did nothing but add depth and flavor! and use a full cup of barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I thought this was a nice soup but didn't feel like the seasoning stood out very much. I made this a day ahead and ate it the following day (allowing the flavors to meld) but it still didn't have an amazing quality about it. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Great soup! I like to cut up sirloin strips in to cubes, lightly flour w/ salt & pepper before browning. I also like to add some corn starch to thicken it up a bit. Yum - even better the next day. It freezes well too. 5 stars for anything healthy that my 8 year old son will eat. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Loved it! I've made this several times, using beef shank, browned and simmered til tender. I also added wine when simmering the beef, and increased the barley & broth, but no substantial changes necessary to this awesome soup. I'll be making it all winter, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States