Beefy Corn Bread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
My husband really liked this recipe. The balance of sweet to spicy is perfect. I did change the ground beef to ground turkey for a lighter fare, and used half cheddar and half mozarella cheeses. Very good. We will make this one again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Very good. It tastes just like my mom makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Do add the package of taco seasoning to the meat. Makes a world of difference. Also I don't cook the onions and pepper with the meat. Just pulse in the food processor till finely chopped and layer on top of the meat. They will cook when you bake the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMALL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Waskom, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicious! I used a pound of ground turkey instead of beef, and added a can of kidney beans. I added a TB of chili powder and 1/2 tsp of cumin. Skipped the jalapenos because I didn't have any. I mixed the turkey, beans, corn, onions, chili powder and cumin together and put it in the bottom of the dish. Then I made a 10 oz package of cornbread mix, following the directions on how to make the cornbread. I layered the cornbread on top of the meat and veggie mixture. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
The only change I made was eliminating the peppers, which we don't care for. The result was delicious. If you like corn bread, you'll love this main dish treatment of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I make this using Veggie Crumbles (Morningstar). My kids and their friends love it, the friends don't even know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was really good. My very picky granddaughter really liked it. A true comfort food. Left out the jalapeno peppers for kids and family, but would be good for my husband who loves hot peppers. Next time will make half with peppers and half without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
We love this recipe but I make some changes. I use 1.5 pounds of ground beef and instead of Jalapeño I add a green pepper diced. After cooking ground beef, onion and green pepper, I drain and add a package of taco seasoning. The family loves it every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
So good! i made a few changes to suit our tastes, though. Used Martha White corn meal mix(we don't like sweet corn bread at all) Added taco seasoning mix, as others have suggested, and a can of green chilis to the meat mixture and left the jalapenos out. Otherwise I followed the recipe. I served it with med. chunky salsa and sour cream for those who wanted it. I have had corn bread with the cheese and peppers in the bread itself and it was good. I think it would be delicious any way you try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookhaven, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This was good! I replaced the ground beef with sausage adn it was awesome! I also left out the peppers simply because my family doesn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States