Beefy Corn Bread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Do add the package of taco seasoning to the meat. Makes a world of difference. Also I don't cook the onions and pepper with the meat. Just pulse in the food processor till finely chopped and layer on top of the meat. They will cook when you bake the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMALL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Waskom, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
In general I thought this was good. I rated it 3 stars because it's not a perfect recipe. I took the advice of so many others and added the taco seasoning. I am glad I did as I think that it would have been rather bland without it. I did use the jalepenos but kind of wish I had just used canned chilis because the peppers were so mild they almost tasted like green peppers. I have 2 major complaints: I personally thought that the corn bread was to to sweet in contrast to the beef and cheese. I think that this could be solved by leaving out the creamed corn, possibly substituting defrosted frozen corn kernels and some extra milk. My other complaint is the ratio of beef to corn bread was rather lacking. I honestly think that one package of corn muffin mix to 1 lb of beef would suffice for a family of 4. Just my own personal preference of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicious! I used a pound of ground turkey instead of beef, and added a can of kidney beans. I added a TB of chili powder and 1/2 tsp of cumin. Skipped the jalapenos because I didn't have any. I mixed the turkey, beans, corn, onions, chili powder and cumin together and put it in the bottom of the dish. Then I made a 10 oz package of cornbread mix, following the directions on how to make the cornbread. I layered the cornbread on top of the meat and veggie mixture. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I read the reviews after making it per the instructions and finding it too bland. The second time I did add 3 tsp taco seasoning and 1 T chili sauce and 1/4 tsp pepper and 1 tsp salt to the hamburger. It was much better. I also mixed everything together like another reviewer suggested as the layering was not written to well in the original instructions and it was much better. Thanks for everyone's input to jazz up the original submission. I was going to toss it but thought I'd give it another try with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I though this was good recipe, easy to make and easy on the budget. My wife thought it needed something else, she said the corn beard was too much. I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This recipe came in handy today because I happened to have everything on hand. After reading other reviews I did make a few changes. I used 2 Betty Crocker corn bread pouches 6.5 oz. I cut the milk to 3/4 cup and used half of a can of cream corn. I used lean ground beef. I also added garlic powder in addition to salt and pepper. I diced two jalapenos, and half a green pepper along with the onion and sauteed with the beef. I used the same amount of cheese but put half in the batter and half on top. I baked it for 20 minutes and it was perfectly done. Great with salad on the side. Easy to make comfort food and easy on the budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I used lower sodium taco seasoning, cut the cheese in half, added a can of drained kidney beans,and substituted a chopped green pepper in place of the jalapeno. Turned out pretty good, even with all my tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
IT WAS GREAT!! My family loved it and I am also baking it for the office Holiday party :-). To make a little healthier and less spice, I substituted the ground beef for ground chuck, added seasoning salt & pepper, added green bell pepper instead of jalapeño and used fat free skim milk, and 2 cups of reduce fat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
We love this recipe but I make some changes. I use 1.5 pounds of ground beef and instead of Jalapeño I add a green pepper diced. After cooking ground beef, onion and green pepper, I drain and add a package of taco seasoning. The family loves it every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe, with several modifications as recommended by other reviewers. It was popular with the husband and two toddlers (2 & 3 years) when served with a salad. I would make it again with these changes: 1. I added my own taco seasoning and canned tomatoes to the browned hamburger and onions. 2. I used my own cornbread recipe, which includes creamed corn, cheese and chopped cilantro. 3. Skip the layers of cheese next time. It made the cornbread touching it seem soggy and almost as if it weren't completely baked. (Which it was, before you ask!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States