Beefy Corn Bread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This was a great side dish but could possibly be used as a main dish as well. I followed the directions exactly and had great results. I did mess up and put the second layer of cheese on the top so it was a little hard to cut but didn't hurt the overall flavor of this dish. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
My husband really liked this recipe. The balance of sweet to spicy is perfect. I did change the ground beef to ground turkey for a lighter fare, and used half cheddar and half mozarella cheeses. Very good. We will make this one again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
IT WAS OK. I ALSO ADDED CREAM OF MUSHROOM SOUP TO THE HAMBURGER. MY SON WASN'T A BIG FAN BUT MY PICKY HUSBAND ATE IT. IT WAS VERY FILLING AND VERY EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Turned out pretty well. Substituted 2 small cans of green chilies, couldn't get jalapenos today. I felt if this were to be made as a main course it would need some additional flavor. Maybe a packet of taco seasoning would do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris53182

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Very good. It tastes just like my mom makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These tasted really good and this was easy to make. The serving size on the picture was a lot smaller, however than the size you would get if you cut this into 8 pieces. I cut it into 16 pieces and the servings were the same size as the picture. I made this with fat free cheese, skim milk, and 93/7 beef and it was still loaded down with calories. The flavor was strong, however, and I will make this again, but I would like to halve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Do add the package of taco seasoning to the meat. Makes a world of difference. Also I don't cook the onions and pepper with the meat. Just pulse in the food processor till finely chopped and layer on top of the meat. They will cook when you bake the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMALL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Waskom, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
IT WAS GREAT!! My family loved it and I am also baking it for the office Holiday party :-). To make a little healthier and less spice, I substituted the ground beef for ground chuck, added seasoning salt & pepper, added green bell pepper instead of jalapeño and used fat free skim milk, and 2 cups of reduce fat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicious! I used a pound of ground turkey instead of beef, and added a can of kidney beans. I added a TB of chili powder and 1/2 tsp of cumin. Skipped the jalapenos because I didn't have any. I mixed the turkey, beans, corn, onions, chili powder and cumin together and put it in the bottom of the dish. Then I made a 10 oz package of cornbread mix, following the directions on how to make the cornbread. I layered the cornbread on top of the meat and veggie mixture. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
As others have said, add the taco seasoning! I also would make more of the meat mixture because it had an overwhelming cornbrread taste. I make another recipe like this and in the layers, I add sour cream. Overall, it was very tasty and I would make it again with a couple modifications as stated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States