Beefy Corn Bread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe, with several modifications as recommended by other reviewers. It was popular with the husband and two toddlers (2 & 3 years) when served with a salad. I would make it again with these changes: 1. I added my own taco seasoning and canned tomatoes to the browned hamburger and onions. 2. I used my own cornbread recipe, which includes creamed corn, cheese and chopped cilantro. 3. Skip the layers of cheese next time. It made the cornbread touching it seem soggy and almost as if it weren't completely baked. (Which it was, before you ask!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
In general I thought this was good. I rated it 3 stars because it's not a perfect recipe. I took the advice of so many others and added the taco seasoning. I am glad I did as I think that it would have been rather bland without it. I did use the jalepenos but kind of wish I had just used canned chilis because the peppers were so mild they almost tasted like green peppers. I have 2 major complaints: I personally thought that the corn bread was to to sweet in contrast to the beef and cheese. I think that this could be solved by leaving out the creamed corn, possibly substituting defrosted frozen corn kernels and some extra milk. My other complaint is the ratio of beef to corn bread was rather lacking. I honestly think that one package of corn muffin mix to 1 lb of beef would suffice for a family of 4. Just my own personal preference of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Great when topped of with sour cream. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Nevers
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
After reading the reviews, I, too, made changes: Added kidney beans, taco seasoning, chili powder, can of diced green chilies, and ex'd the jalapenos. Was so easy to make, my picky 3 year old went to town on it, although picked out every speck of ground beef ("the black stuff," he says). Gotta say ... this was 10x better after it sat for a bit, and the next day. When it was steaming hot out of the oven, I found it mushy and weird. It firms up after sitting, a good thing. VERY GOOD ... the smell of it cooking and re-heating is intoxicating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I liked it. I did add some taco seasoning and a drained can of hot Rotel tomatoes (left out the chopped japs) to the meat as it was browning. I think next time I will put more cheese on top of the meat and less on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWHEEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
The only change I made was eliminating the peppers, which we don't care for. The result was delicious. If you like corn bread, you'll love this main dish treatment of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
tasteless and doughy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I used lower sodium taco seasoning, cut the cheese in half, added a can of drained kidney beans,and substituted a chopped green pepper in place of the jalapeno. Turned out pretty good, even with all my tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
As others have said, add the taco seasoning! I also would make more of the meat mixture because it had an overwhelming cornbrread taste. I make another recipe like this and in the layers, I add sour cream. Overall, it was very tasty and I would make it again with a couple modifications as stated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicious! I used a pound of ground turkey instead of beef, and added a can of kidney beans. I added a TB of chili powder and 1/2 tsp of cumin. Skipped the jalapenos because I didn't have any. I mixed the turkey, beans, corn, onions, chili powder and cumin together and put it in the bottom of the dish. Then I made a 10 oz package of cornbread mix, following the directions on how to make the cornbread. I layered the cornbread on top of the meat and veggie mixture. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States