Beefy Corn Bread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This was good! I replaced the ground beef with sausage adn it was awesome! I also left out the peppers simply because my family doesn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This recipe was pretty easy...especially for me. I can out-bake almost anyone, but I can't cook to save my life. I read quite a few reviews before I made this casserole. I used a half a pound of ground turkey and a half a pound of ground sausage in place of the ground beef. Someone mentioned that the cream style corn maybe made the corn bread too sweet. I used a packet of taco seasoning. I put 1/4 of the packet into the corn bread mix and then the rest in with the meat mixture. Because I used the taco seasoning, I didn't add the salt in the recipe. I also added kidney beans as I need the extra protein. The end result? A great casserole that even I can eat and enjoy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
So good! i made a few changes to suit our tastes, though. Used Martha White corn meal mix(we don't like sweet corn bread at all) Added taco seasoning mix, as others have suggested, and a can of green chilis to the meat mixture and left the jalapenos out. Otherwise I followed the recipe. I served it with med. chunky salsa and sour cream for those who wanted it. I have had corn bread with the cheese and peppers in the bread itself and it was good. I think it would be delicious any way you try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookhaven, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This recipe came in handy today because I happened to have everything on hand. After reading other reviews I did make a few changes. I used 2 Betty Crocker corn bread pouches 6.5 oz. I cut the milk to 3/4 cup and used half of a can of cream corn. I used lean ground beef. I also added garlic powder in addition to salt and pepper. I diced two jalapenos, and half a green pepper along with the onion and sauteed with the beef. I used the same amount of cheese but put half in the batter and half on top. I baked it for 20 minutes and it was perfectly done. Great with salad on the side. Easy to make comfort food and easy on the budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
We love this recipe but I make some changes. I use 1.5 pounds of ground beef and instead of Jalapeño I add a green pepper diced. After cooking ground beef, onion and green pepper, I drain and add a package of taco seasoning. The family loves it every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was really good. My very picky granddaughter really liked it. A true comfort food. Left out the jalapeno peppers for kids and family, but would be good for my husband who loves hot peppers. Next time will make half with peppers and half without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I read the reviews after making it per the instructions and finding it too bland. The second time I did add 3 tsp taco seasoning and 1 T chili sauce and 1/4 tsp pepper and 1 tsp salt to the hamburger. It was much better. I also mixed everything together like another reviewer suggested as the layering was not written to well in the original instructions and it was much better. Thanks for everyone's input to jazz up the original submission. I was going to toss it but thought I'd give it another try with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I use this recipe all the time. The only difference is that I use the instructions on cornbread packets. No need for the baking soda - the milk and eggs are already included in the cornbread instructions. Be sure and use regular yellow mix - not any of the sweet brands - I usually use Martha White or even the store brand. Also, I don't layer. Just mix it all together and bake until done. This is good on New Years Day with black-eyed peas - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I make this using Veggie Crumbles (Morningstar). My kids and their friends love it, the friends don't even know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I though this was good recipe, easy to make and easy on the budget. My wife thought it needed something else, she said the corn beard was too much. I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States