Beefy Cheesy Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I added sour cream and taco seasoning. I also used a little pepper jack. I tried it with penne instead of rotelle. I enjoyed the rotelle more, it held the flavor better. Very good over all, I will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hammond, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Initially a bit bland, but I rescued the dish with a few additions and modifications. Added fresh red peppers & some cumin, along with some sweet corn to boost the flavor a bit. Swapped out sharp cheddar cheese for the American cheese and increased the milk content. Added salt and pepper too. Didn't use but a teaspoon of soy sauce. Also added a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce. Granted, it's no longer the original recipe, but was much better with these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a homemade version of Hamburger Helper (which I do not eat due to trans fats and MSG). I followed other suggestions and added a large spoonful of sour cream, and I didn't have any taco seasoning so I added a couple of dashes of taco seasoning and garlic salt. It was really good- definitely comfort food though. Also I added finely chopped onions, red and green peppers when I cooked the beef. Again it was yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
WOW! Better than I thought it would turn out. I made this recipe just how it was written out. It was very hard not to follow suggestions but I wanted to make this because of the ingredients. I usually have these items on hand and I have to say it was real good. I was most skeptical about the cheese slices but glad I stuck to the recipe. I hope it taste just as good for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Great base recipe! Didn't give it 5 stars because I made a few changes. As suggested by other reviews I doubled the amount of beef to 1lb, and milk to 1/2 cup. Used 3 slices of American cheese, and some left over Velvetta ( All the cheese I had at hand). Also, as the beef was cooking, it seemed to be missing some spices, so I added some ground black pepper, a pinch of cumin and ground mustard, and a bay leaf. Right before serving I mixed in some frozen sweet peas, and some dry parsley flakes. Really, really tasty!!! Did I mention I made this like in 30 minutes????!!!! Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was delicious! I've made my own hamburger helper stuff before....I really like how easy and simple this was. Everyone seemed to enjoy it, too! I followed everything the recipe said. I did use ground turkey instead of ground beef. I also added hamburger seasoning to the turkey as it was cooking...habit. The only other addition was a can of low-sodium beef broth. I alternated adding that with the sliced cheese....gave it a smoother and wetter texture. Oh, I did use penne pasta because that's what I had on hand. Excellent! UPDATE: I have also made this several times using the meat base and boxed mac & cheese. Turns out great that way, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was great. I added a bag of froz. green beans so it had some vegies. Next time I would use a little less soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My fiance literally inhaled this dish!! Made recipe for 2 servings & had to double the amount of milk in order to help make the entire mixture more cohesive. I highly recommend "cheating" and using shredded cheese. I liked that it wasn't too heavy -- perfect amount of cheese & beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by correystoner

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I used ground venison and added a bit of Italian Seasoning and shredded marble jack cheese. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Grems Chamberlain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Newport, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States