Beefy Cheesy Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I added sour cream and taco seasoning. I also used a little pepper jack. I tried it with penne instead of rotelle. I enjoyed the rotelle more, it held the flavor better. Very good over all, I will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hammond, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Initially a bit bland, but I rescued the dish with a few additions and modifications. Added fresh red peppers & some cumin, along with some sweet corn to boost the flavor a bit. Swapped out sharp cheddar cheese for the American cheese and increased the milk content. Added salt and pepper too. Didn't use but a teaspoon of soy sauce. Also added a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce. Granted, it's no longer the original recipe, but was much better with these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a homemade version of Hamburger Helper (which I do not eat due to trans fats and MSG). I followed other suggestions and added a large spoonful of sour cream, and I didn't have any taco seasoning so I added a couple of dashes of taco seasoning and garlic salt. It was really good- definitely comfort food though. Also I added finely chopped onions, red and green peppers when I cooked the beef. Again it was yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
WOW! Better than I thought it would turn out. I made this recipe just how it was written out. It was very hard not to follow suggestions but I wanted to make this because of the ingredients. I usually have these items on hand and I have to say it was real good. I was most skeptical about the cheese slices but glad I stuck to the recipe. I hope it taste just as good for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Great base recipe! Didn't give it 5 stars because I made a few changes. As suggested by other reviews I doubled the amount of beef to 1lb, and milk to 1/2 cup. Used 3 slices of American cheese, and some left over Velvetta ( All the cheese I had at hand). Also, as the beef was cooking, it seemed to be missing some spices, so I added some ground black pepper, a pinch of cumin and ground mustard, and a bay leaf. Right before serving I mixed in some frozen sweet peas, and some dry parsley flakes. Really, really tasty!!! Did I mention I made this like in 30 minutes????!!!! Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was delicious! I've made my own hamburger helper stuff before....I really like how easy and simple this was. Everyone seemed to enjoy it, too! I followed everything the recipe said. I did use ground turkey instead of ground beef. I also added hamburger seasoning to the turkey as it was cooking...habit. The only other addition was a can of low-sodium beef broth. I alternated adding that with the sliced cheese....gave it a smoother and wetter texture. Oh, I did use penne pasta because that's what I had on hand. Excellent! UPDATE: I have also made this several times using the meat base and boxed mac & cheese. Turns out great that way, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was great. I added a bag of froz. green beans so it had some vegies. Next time I would use a little less soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My fiance literally inhaled this dish!! Made recipe for 2 servings & had to double the amount of milk in order to help make the entire mixture more cohesive. I highly recommend "cheating" and using shredded cheese. I liked that it wasn't too heavy -- perfect amount of cheese & beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by correystoner

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I used ground venison and added a bit of Italian Seasoning and shredded marble jack cheese. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Newport, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States