Beefy Cabbage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Couldn't be easier, so I will make this again. I followed the instructions exactly, except that I used ground chicken instead of ground beef. It was fine but not terribly flavorful. Next time I will add more seasoning - I think it would benefit from crushed red pepper or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
this was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Loved the addition of the slaw mix. a great variation is I store up left over meats, pork,steak chicken, in the freezer and pull them out to make chilis and/or stew. It worked very well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very thick & tasty. Added onion & garlic. Couldn't find Greek-style seasoning at store so used Perfect Pinch Lemon Herb. Used shredded cabbage and chopped carrots in place of coleslaw mix. A little concerned about all the salt but we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I have to say, I was skeptical when I read over the ingredients since most of it was canned. This one really knocked it out of the park. It was so easy and so tasty, not to mention hearty & healthy. The only change was that I substituted Jimmy Dean hot sausage instead of hamburger. It turned out perfect, just the right amount of spicy. I also had to make my own greek-style seasoning since I couldn't find it in the store. I used a recipe I found on allrecipes.com. I will totally make this again especially for company since it makes so much and is so easy. We took half with us camping and it was better re-heated a few days later! This is a good way to impress people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I tried this recipe since I'd never thought to make a stew with cole slaw mix. I liked the different textures of beans, beef and cabbage but as is the flavoring was bland for us. (I did have to sub tomato sauce for the tomato juice)I added additional spices to perk it up and my hubby really enjoyed it. I took another reviewer's advice and added cheese as a topping. I think it'll taste even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I used some leftover roast from the night before instead of ground beef and it turned out good. A nice stew recipe for the fall/winter. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I loved the veggies in this soup. Didn't care for the Greek spices, will try Italian seasoning next time. I will freeze some for lunches next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Sorry, didn't like this much and the cabbage was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I love earthy healthy recipes like this! Very simple, very good. I made a "greek seasoning" mix of 2 parts each oregano and onion powder; 1 part each garlic powder, black pepper, and cornstarch; and 1/2 part each cinnamon and nutmeg (you can also add salt and beef bouillion granules). I used 2 tsps of that and around 1 tsp of salt, decreased water to 1 cup and increased tomato juice to 2 cups. I also used 1-1/2 cups of locally-grown shoepeg corn instead of canned, which gave it a nice sweet crispness. I might try using something like Morningstar veggie crumbles next time to make this a vegetarian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States