Beefs Portuguese Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by leggab
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Amazing. Would not change anything. I marinated mine for 8hrs first and was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Traditional Portuguese cooking does not use Chile we use crushed red pepper either the dry flakes or the wet Goya. There are several variations. This can be made with Budweiser beer instead of the wine adding a package of MacCormics Brown gravy powder about 3 minutes before the recipe is finished cooking. Served with yellow rice and French fries, topped with a fried egg (from the same pan) and a 1/4 red pepper (sliced the long way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was great! It was nice having something a little different for supper. It was definitely very strong, but we liked it. To be authentic we ever put a fried egg on top. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sustainable09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was delicious! I have been trying to figure out how to make portuguese steak since I moved to MA seven years ago. My in laws are so vague about it like they don't want to share, so thank you for sharing. I did make one change and that was to reduce the oil to 1 T and I changed it to olive oil. There is no need to use that much oil in this recipe, which is why I gave it 4/5 stars. With the 1T oil it was still delicious. My Portuguese husband was very impressed! It is easy to overcook, however, so be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
An excellent tasting dish. Great flavors; I love cooking red meats in wine. I'm also a fan of garlic. Perhaps it was me, or the cuts of meat I used, but both times I've prepared this meal, the steaks have been a little tough. Other than that, I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was ok. The gravy is nice but the wine is a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Yum! Bifanas on paposecos are the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Decent, but I expected more garlic kick. I preferred the Filet with the Merlot reduction, also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very tasty. Just made this for dinner tonight. I did have to make a couple of substitutions because I didn't have the exact ingredients (substituted red pepper flakes for the chile paste and used regular fresh ground black pepper instead of white pepper). It was very easy to make, also, which is always a big seller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Tasty but not phenomenal; I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States