Beef with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This recipe was very good. I took the advice putting in my own vegetables. Instead of the carrots, I used water chessnuts, young corn, and bean sprouts, and I also used yellow bellpepper as well. I also added sesame oil. Everyone in the family loved it. I'm glad I doubled the recipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
WOW! I never have seconds but I ate seconds and all the leftovers of this! We didn't have any ginger and didn't use oyster sauce....we did use carrots, green onions (instead of regular onions), green beans, and green peppers for veggies. I made beef broth from the beef sachets and I did make too much (I had doubled the recipe but I don't think this needed doubled) but we served it on rice and the extra juice tasted excellent so I think I'd leave it doubled. We'll be eating this one frequently- all the kids loved it too! Excellent flavor and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
a keeper! good basic recipe that takes well to improvisation. The kids said it tasted like take-out. I used green pepper, yellow pepper, onion, mushrooms sliced, diagonal sliced carrots and celery. I left out the sugar since I don't like sweet sauces. I doubled the amount of ginger and garlic, (well, maybe I tripled it). I added a dash of dry sherry since I am allergic to oysters....and it turned out fantastic. Next time want to try broccoli instead of peppers. Maybe add bamboo shoots and water chestnuts too. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe...used snow peas, water chestnuts, red bell pepper, green bell pepper, onion, and fresh mushrooms..and served over whole grain rice. Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Delicious, tastes like takeout. I've made as written, and also used broccoli in place of peppers (steamed for just a minute in the microwave first) and added a can of whole baby corn. I use ground ginger instead of fresh, so it's probably not QUITE as good as it could be, but we still love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was great! I made it with broccoli, red pepper,mushrooms,onions,but no oyster paste,added extra sugar. There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WELTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Man, in a house filled with picky eaters, this recipe got RAVE reviews, across the board, even from the picky kidlets. This is definately "make-again" worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
LOVED IT! I had left over steak which I cut in pieces. Added celery, broccoli, mushrooms and bean sprouts. As I write my husband is scraping out the remaining sauce from the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This is the first stir-fry I have made that my husband absolutely loved. We left out the oyster sauce and used 1/2 tbsp more soy sauce. We also added canned green beans right before serving (didn't have any fresh). The slight sweetness to the sauce made it great! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I don't think this recipe gets enough credit for what it is. It's basically like a beef and broccoli recipe. It has a really good flavor and is great with rice. I ALWAYS double the sauce paste because it thickens better. I would definitely use oyster sauce if you can find it because it adds another good dash of flavor to the sauce. I only use broccoli with this recipe because I don't really like fancy colorful veggies. It's also a good basic recipe and leaves lots of room for adding your own things. Doesn't take very long either so give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States