Beef with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Oh oh, I hope the people reading this realize you meant cornstarch in your directions and NOT corn Flour. A novice might not know the difference. Proof reading your submission would have been a help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I don't think this is enough really for 4 servings. Also, just adding 1 onion, 1 green pepper and 1 carrot wasn't a terribly exciting vegetable mix or enough vegetables in my opinion, so I added plenty of other vegetables - extra carrot, snap peas, celery, broccoli, bamboo, etc. Also the sauce, although nice, was a little boring, so I would suggest spicing it up with some other ingredients. I added some sweet chilli sauce, but it would also be nice with other ingredients. It was a decent base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made this for my family and it was not a hit. The meat was overcooked. However, the sauce was very good and flavorful, but tasted as if it was missing a spice. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
ok, I used venison steak instead of beef and cut them into 1" stripes, and added onions,yellow pepper,red pepper, and shredded carrots. Moreover, I added Cabernet Sauvignon 1/2 cup, and the venison once the peppers and the onions were sautéed. On the side I made a rue (flower&butter), and added to the mix at the end. I must say it was awesome!!! Over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rfanti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Dandridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Great basic recipe but it needed more spices (like garlic powder and cumin). I also added a dash of dry cooking wine for some twang. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
From the photo I was expecting broccoli to be in the recipe. Was it left out on purpose? I'd rather have broccoli in this than green peppers... roughly how much broccoli would I use and would this change the cooking time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Enjoyable dish. Made it again with chicken intead of beef using chicken broth. Can also add bamboo shoots, water chestnuts and bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
The combination of flavors were good but it wasn't strong enough. I added my own veggies (broccoli, squash, zucchini and carrots) and increased the amount of sauce. I also had to increase the amount of soy sauce and oyster sauce to help the flavor. I also added 1/2-1 teaspoon of fish sauce to try and enhance the flavor as well as hot chili oil to add spice. In the end, there was more flavor, but I didn't completely find the combination to feature the oyster sauce. Would make again with some adjusting in sauce proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Added also broccoli and red bell pepper to it and served it on a bed of couscous. Loved it, definitely making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I agree with Katherine. Flavor was a bit on the plain side for me, too much beef broth. If I make this recipe again, I will have to use less broth. the beef was overcooked and hardened by the time to finished the dish and the sauce never thickened. But it is a basic recipe and can be easily revised to desired liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States