Beef Vindaloo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Fabulous! Can't wait to serve to company! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was delicious except for being way too salty. 2 Tablespoons of salt?? Really???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Rosen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is a hard recipe for me to review. I love to say only positive things… but, honestly I have issues with the terminology and quantities of certain ingredients. Recipe directions said to make a marinade of the yogurt, vinegar and spices. Then soak at least one hour or overnight. This was more of a “coating” rather than a marinade. My VERY limited exposure to cooking sent me to the dictionary after preparing this dish to research the meaning of “marinate” as it pertains to cooking. Marinate is “soaking or exposing a food item for a long period time, then removing.” The yogurt mixture is UNremovable, so I’m choosing to call it a “Yogurt Coating.” Also, it was so salty and hot, we could hardly eat it. Way beneath the salt and the heat, was a hint of what I think might be a great dish. Could the 2 tablespoons of salt be a typo? If you were truly MARINATING the meat, those quantities would be o.k. Not being able to remove the meat from the coating is, in my opinion, the downfall of this dish. When I make this again, and I will with a good tweaking, I’ll use maybe 1 or 2 teaspoons of salt, 1 teaspoon each of black pepper and cayenne or ancho chili pepper powder. The garlic and ginger paste is a combination I love, so I think there might be some hope for this Vindaloo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Great recipe. For those who reviewed saying too salty, this dish should be somewhat salty. Also use Kosher salt not table salt. Most chefs design recipes with Kosher or Sea Salt not table salt. Vindaloo is one of the hottest dishes on an Indian menu, so this should be enough to make you sweat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Okay flavor, I cannot put my finger on it, but it's missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I used venison in this vindaloo and got great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Good overall flavor, but the sauce was thin, and really spicy. I garnished with some more yogurt which I thought improved it. If I do it again, I'll cut way back on the water and a little on the peppers, and add more yogurt earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Good overall recipe, but a bit salty and lacking some depth to the flavor. I saw that the sauce was going to be rather runny, especially since I was using canned tomatoes (2 cans, drained one of them) and completely cut out the cup of water. I then also removed the lid for the last 20 minutes of simmering. Next time I'll add some real hot peppers in addition to the red pepper flakes and supplement lime juice for some of the vinegar to try and fill out the somewhat one dimensional flavor. I was pleasantly surprised with how tender the stew meat that I used got in just an hour or so of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This is a recipe for Indian vindaloo curry, and it's a good recipe for vindaloo. It's supposed to be spicy enough to just about burn your taste buds off. I live in a suburb of Houston that has loads of Indians and Indian eateries, and this recipe is about on par with the best of them. Try drinking an IPA to wash this down - Kingfisher would be best choice. If the vindaloo is too hot for you, try a recipe for madras curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
too salty!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States