Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight served over egg noodles. The only change I made was to omit the salt and simmered about 3 hours because I got side tracked. Smelled really good while cooking, meat was fork tender and I enjoyed the bite from the amount of pepper in there. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I've made this several times. Very good recipe! I tweaked it like everyone else! I don't really measure ingredients at all, just eyeball it and pour/toss it in. I used a can of beef broth and a cup of water, a larger can of mushroom pieces, added about a half cup of sliced celery, a larger chopped onion, about half a teaspoon each of thyme and sage, a little less of the soy sauce and worstershire, and added 2 envelopes of the brown gravy mix right at the beginning and cooked on the stove for around 2 1/2 hours on simmer. The meat is fall-apart tender and if the gravy is not thick enough, add another envelope of gravy mix (I like lots of gravy!). I also love the idea of adding sour cream to it at the end (have done that, too!). Make it YOURS! You can and add chopped green pepper, a can of squished whole tomatoes, jalapenos..... the list goes on!!! Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made this as directed . The meat was tender after 1 1/4 hrs of cooking . However , when adding the packet of gravy and water , I cooked it for 10 mins . more , and it did not thicken to my liking . Had to add a slurry of cornstarch and water , and cook 10 more mins. The sauce was too salty , and had too much pepper . If I were to make again , it would be with a lot of tweaking . Sorry .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Great flavor. Just too salty (and I love salt!). Served over mashed potatoes - so yummy. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Tweaked the recipe a bit. I added minced garlic & mushrooms while browning meat Also black pepper. Added 1 can beef broth, cut 2 cups water to 3/4 & added 1/4 cup red wine. cut soy sauce & Worcestershire sauce to 1/8 cup each. Omited salt & before serving thickened juice w/corn starch to make gravy. Turned out perfect. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I agree that this is a good base recipe, but if you want it less salty here are my suggestions. Cut the soy sauce and worchestershire sauce by half and add 1/4 cup of good red wine. Also, adding beef broth will just make it more salty. I added 1 glove chopped garlic instead of garlic powder; adjust according to your taste. I also added dry porticini mushrooms versus canned. Even though the recipe didn't call for mushrooms it balances the flavor. Try 1 package of mushroom gravy insted of brown gravy...a lot less sodium. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This recipe is a family favorite. It is so easy to make and tastes heavenly! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I liked it, I always try to make it exactly as written, but I'm a garlic fiend and add a tablespoon of minced garlic to EVERYTHING! So I sauteed the onions with garlic as well as adding the garlic powder. The recipe was good, but it was so very salty, I can't justify giving it 5 stars. Don't get me wrong, I love salt, but it was a little overboard and I woke up puffy and inflated the next morning! Next time I won't add the salt or the garlic powder at all and I might cut down on the soy sauce a bit as well. Very tasty besides the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Really Good, did not add all the extra water and made the gravy from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Used Mom's Brown Gravy recipe to make this. Did it all in the crockpot. Omitted the tsp of salt and onion. Serving with noodles and corn on the cob. My husband actually liked this which surprised me because it seemed too simple but that's okay! I'll be making it again, adding some things perhaps but still making it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States