Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Made this for a bunch of guys who were doing outside work on my house. Cold, windy day and thought this might hit the spot. It was easy enough to make. I used Bragg's amino acid instead of soy sauce. Based on another review I added the brown gravy mix without the water. Still tasted pretty salty. I also used fresh mushrooms. It was good and the boys liked/appreciated it. Would really like to reduce the salty taste tho. (didn't add the suggested 1 t.) Will make again and continue to tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Yes. I have tried this recipe. Followed it to a T. First time with egg noodles, second time rice. Really tasty and delicious. I prefer the rice over the noodles. My family loves this recipe. I give it a 41/2 out of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is a nice &simple recipe that gives you much bang for minimal effort. I heeded other reviewers' warnings about salt & skipped the worsch &soy sauce. I basically browned (just 1 lb of) the beef as instructed & then deglazed the pan with 1/4 c white wine. I then added the additional 3/4 c of liquid in the form of water. Once that thickened with the brown gravy mix I added the beef back into the pan & simmered for about 45 minutes. I combined a few ideas from Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff recipe as I made this one.I think that how much liquid you put in the pan should be dictated by how long you plan to let it simmer...I ended up having to add another tbsp each of water& wine towards the end to give myself a bit more sauce. I will absolutely make this again...the recipe is pretty versatile as far as add-ins & side dishes & spices go. I would like to try to add some different spices-this time I just used garlic. This would be really good over mashed potatoes with a side of Yorkshire pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
My family loved this dish. My 10 y/o daughter said she would like this for her birthday dinner. I didn't have a gravy mix handy but used a crock pot roast seasoning packet instead. I also added 2 tbls flour to the gravy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Good comfort food, very tender, I served it over rice. I substituted 1 can of beef stock for part of the water and used a can of mushroom soup instead of the dry gravy mix. It would be good with mash potatoes and biscuits too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsPenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
With a few adjustments, this was a great recipe. I omitted the salt and added crushed rosemary, garlic, and a bay leaf. Delicious served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Made this last night and my husband LOVED it. I floured my meat before browning. Slight change was that I did not have any brown gravy mix so I just used some gravy master and wonder. Simmered for 1 hour and the meat was so tender. I served over mashed potatoes. Next time I am going to add mushrooms and use low salt soy sauce, because there will definitely be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
very easy! Family loved it, will double recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prozaclady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
It was a great dish! I would not put any additional salt in the dish and less Soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very good the whole family loved it I will include this in my menu from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States