Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Good comfort food, very tender, I served it over rice. I substituted 1 can of beef stock for part of the water and used a can of mushroom soup instead of the dry gravy mix. It would be good with mash potatoes and biscuits too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsPenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
With a few adjustments, this was a great recipe. I omitted the salt and added crushed rosemary, garlic, and a bay leaf. Delicious served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Made this last night and my husband LOVED it. I floured my meat before browning. Slight change was that I did not have any brown gravy mix so I just used some gravy master and wonder. Simmered for 1 hour and the meat was so tender. I served over mashed potatoes. Next time I am going to add mushrooms and use low salt soy sauce, because there will definitely be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
very easy! Family loved it, will double recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prozaclady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
It was a great dish! I would not put any additional salt in the dish and less Soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very good the whole family loved it I will include this in my menu from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The roommate has multiple food allergies so I have to adapt almost every recipe to some extent. Cornstarch is definitely out. I did find some gravy mix made in the UK that is safe and, because I used that, I did not add any salt to the rest of the dish. Otherwise, it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
previous reviewers are right! This is SALTY!! I'm a salt-a-holic - I mean, I sprinkle salt on my plate and dip my meat in it. Yeah, I love salt. So I opted to ignore reviewer advice and not cut out salt.... And that was a bad mistake! It's waaaaay tooo salty! My 5 year old son thanked me for his salt dinner. Yeah, it was that bad. Aside from the salt, it was great. I used fresh mushrooms & garlic. And I cut out 1 1/4 cups of water, and used 1/4 cup merlot. I also added some frozen peas & carrots when I added the gravy mixture. I also added a T of cornstarch to help it thicken. I served it over white rice. I will make it again, but I will leave out the extra salt AND use low-sodium soy sauce. In hindsight, maybe it was the cup less of water that amplified the salt??? But it didn't need more liquid - there was plenty of gravy to feed my family of 5, with leftovers for Daddy to take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This was wonderful! I was looking for a recipe just like this for making freezer meals. I used chuck steak which worked great. The gravy was rich and flavorful. Also served it over mashed potatoes - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was easy and good. It was a bit on the salty side so I might look for a low sodium gravy mix next time. We did use low sodium soy already. Added fresh mushrooms and served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States