Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I'm cooking this now. Instead of water I used beef broth. Added some black pepper and garlic powder. It's gonna be beefy. No salt don't need it. Did'nt have any worcestershire so I added some A1 steak sauce. I know it's gonna be good. I'll be back if it ain't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
We did not care for this. Had to add 4 Tbsp. cornstarch to make it thick enough to make a gravy to pour over noodles, otherwise it would have been way too watery. I thought the flavor was just OK, my husband thought it was awful and said don't make again. I used sirloin instead of stew meat because I thought it would be more tender, but that didn't help. I didn't add the tsp. of salt because I figured it would be salty enough with the soy sauce, and it was (even used low sodium soy sauce), if I had added the extra salt, would probably have been inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Very tasty. I cut the soy sauce in half, added fresh mushrooms and substituted fresh garlic for garlic powder (personal preference). Definitely let the beef simmer as recipe states so it will be tender. This recipe is often requested in my house. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
My husband liked this a lot. It went well over mashed potatos, but would go well with rice or noodles. I changed a couple things just for my personal taste. I added mushrooms and used real garlic and I didn't use as much onion because my husband is not a huge fan of them. I also didn't use as much water because I like my gravy thicker. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very good! The flavor is great! The only thing I would do is maybe double the sauce recipe. We love our noodles saucy! I did not have the onion soup mix, so I used minced onion and some ground beef bouillon.Turned out great! I will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Loved how fast it was. The meat was tender & the sauce flavorful. I would cut the salt in half next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was yummy . the family likes it,I served it over rice. For some reason I was expecting the gravy to be thicker. meat was fork tender, will make again, maybe next time I will add some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My family loved this. My 6 year old son had THIRDS and ate all of his veggies to get a second helping. I added some sliced mushrooms and replaced the garlic powder with minced garlic. I cooked this for 1.5 hours and the meat was perfectly tender. My husband makes homemade egg noodles, so we added those at the end. I did not add the salt based on other reviews and thought that the level of salt was perfect. No need to add, but not overly salty, either. Because we added the noodles to the dish, we did add the full 1 cup of water with the gravy mix and the thickness of the gravy was perfect. The noodles soaked up some of the liquid and the flour thickened the gravy without needing to add any additional corn starch or flour. I'm pretty sure there will be a mutiny at my house if I do NOT make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Very tasty! I used beef strips intended for stir fry. There were no leftovers when my husband tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittypodz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Followed others advice and used low sodium soy sauce. This was excellent, really good gravy, tender meat. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States