Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
SOOOOO tender, just don't overcook; 90 min is plenty. EASILY 5 stars with minimal modifications! Coat beef with flour & pepper before browning, don't add any salt. Simmer for 1 hour on low/med, then add gravy packet & 2 tbsp corn starch. Simmer additional 30 min, remove from heat. Served over instant mashed potatoes, but egg noodles would be great, too! THIS WAS SO EASY! Too easy to taste this good! It was a hit with my boyfriend & he's hard to impress. THIS IS GREAT THE NEXT DAY, TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I have been on All recipes.com for several months now and have made my family of five recipes from this site almost every night, but this one was the first one I am writing a review on...It was that good! I didn't change a thing. Everyone loved it! I believe the reason the recipe calls for the meat to cook for 2 hours is to tenderize it. You can buy inexpensive bottom round stew meat (rather than top round) and by cooking it for several hours, the meat definitely is alot more tender than if it had cooked for a shorter period. I served it over egg noodles and added some baby peas. The meat was so tender it melted in our mouths! This is one recipe I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Added less water, a tsp. of cornstarch to thicken, and 1/2 cup of sour cream right before it was served, per someone's suggestion. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Instant family favorite! I have made this several times and it's always a big hit. We serve it over homemade mashed potatoes with hot buttered rolls. The only thing I alter is to use reduced-sodium soy sauce AND reduced-sodium Brown Gravy mix. And I omit the salt called for in the recipe. Otherwise its just too salty. I do use 2 packets of gravy with 1+1/2 c water. Turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good base recipe, but way too salty. I floured the stew meat before browning, I used 2 cloves of fresh garlic instead of powder, low sodium beef broth instead of water, half of the low sodium soy sauce, and no water with the gravy packet (maybe that's why it was so salty?). The sauce was nice and thick. Next time I will add in fresh mushrooms, maybe 1/2 cup of red wine - and I will leave out the soy sauce altogether. I don't really care for the taste of it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Benbrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe is simple and very delicious. The only thing i did differently was omitted the soy sauce and cut back on the salt. I also reduced the cooking time to 90 minutes from start to finish. My hubby loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
My husband loves beef tips over egg noodles so I thought I would try this. I used reduced sodium soy sauce and brown gravy mix. It was very good but I will leave the salt out next time and cook it just an hour. Going to make a batch to keep some available in the freezer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
it was good.. didn't add the salt but after cooking for awhile there was no need for salt. I noticed the sauce was not thick enough to coat the noodled so I had to thicken it up w/ cornstarch.. over all she is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhousewife7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Sauce needed to be thickened. Had the consistency of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I cut my beef cubes real small. I added fresh mushrooms. I only cooked it for 25 to 30min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States