Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
A good base recipe. I modified this quite a bit. I sauteed an onion with 2 cloves fresh chopped garlic. Then dusted beef with flour and browned. Added 1/4 cup of red wine. Added 2 cups of water, 2 cloves smashed garlic, 5 or 6 splashes of worcestershire, 3 splashes of low sodium soy, 1/2 Knorrs homestyle beef stock, Lots of fresh cracked pepper, some dried thyme, 2 bay leaves, dried rosemary, reduced heat and simmered for 1 hour. Then added diced green pepper, and a touch of salt. Simmered 30 min. Served with white rice. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I dumped it all in the crock pot. It was OK. I will try again with higher quality meat (we used some given to us that was not our usual). Served over brown rice. I left out salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was way too salty! And 1 tsp of ground pepper is too much. Might try again without adding salt and using 1/4tsp of pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Yummy! We loved it!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very good recipe! Next time I'm going to add some sliced mushrooms to the mix. Also, I only simmered this for about 30-40 minutes and it came out fine, but I think the meat would've been more tender if I had cooked it for the full 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
What a great and easy reciepe!!! I left the salt out no need for it. I used 1 cup of beef broth and 1 cup of water instead of two cups of water. I also added one can of cream of mushroom soup totally made the gravy so delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I changed a few things since I cook for only two. I used a boneless sirloin tip steak (less than 1 lb) and sliced it. I cooked sliced onions, fresh mushrooms, and minced garlic (from jar) together first in 1/2 the olive oil then set that aside while I sauteed the meat in additional oil which I had coated with some flour first. After it was browned I added a little water at a time (about a cup) and it thickened up nicely. I added the soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce before putting a lid on it and letting it simmer for about 1 hour. I didn't use the dry gravy mix because I thought it was fine without it...just added a bit more water. Served over noodles. I added no salt to the recipe but added a little garlic powder and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
As written, I have to give this a three star, sorry. A tsp. of pepper is just too much, that is all I could taste. I used low sodium soy sauce and left out the additional tsp. salt, so I didn't think it was too salty as some have said. I do like the flavor of soy sauce and Worcestershire and will make again with much less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I threw it all in the crock pot except the onions and the cup of water that went with the gravy. Cooked it for six hours. I did have to thicken it up with some cornstarch and water. Served over mashed potatoes. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States