Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I threw it all in the crock pot except the onions and the cup of water that went with the gravy. Cooked it for six hours. I did have to thicken it up with some cornstarch and water. Served over mashed potatoes. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I am rating this 5 stars due to how EASY this recipe is to adapt to the ingredients you have on hand. I Made the following changes: I left out the soy sauce altogethere. I added about 1/4 cup barbecue sauce instead. I followed the recipe otherwise, except I only simmed the beef for 45 minutes, then added the gravy mix (already mixed with water) and boiled for 1 minute. My husband LOVED this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I made this tonight and it's a it. I had to convert it to gluten free in order to eat it. Here's what I did: eliminated the packet of gravy mix as it's not gf. Tossed the beef with gluten free flour seasoned with garlic pepper. Also used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. I served it with some gluten free pasta and it's absolutely delicioius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Started this early today and it is done and taste great. Per other reveiws I left out the salt and used fresh garlic. Dont know if I can wait till dinner, it is so good, got it sitting on low on stove to keep warm till family gets here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I tried to do this in the crockpot with not so great results. I adjusted the recipe for 3 pounds of stew meat, since that's what I had, and I did sub red wine for part of the soy and Worcestershire as recommended by some other reviews. I also used frozen chopped onions instead of fresh and added a large can of sliced mushrooms, drained. I followed the rest of the recipe from there, except the last cup of water (2 cups with the adjusted recipe), which I left out since you need less liquid when cooking with the slow cooker. Unfortunately, there was still too much liquid. Even after adding 2 packages of gravy mix and a cornstarch slurry, the sauce never thickened up. But, the good thing was it still tasted really great! My husband gave it a 4 as it was and I would give it a 4 for flavor myself. I do want to try this again on the stove so I can see how the gravy thickens up the right way before I give this one official stars. But if it tastes as good on the cook top as it did in the crockpot, plus it has real gravy, I'm betting it'll be a 5 star recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I'm cooking this now. Instead of water I used beef broth. Added some black pepper and garlic powder. It's gonna be beefy. No salt don't need it. Did'nt have any worcestershire so I added some A1 steak sauce. I know it's gonna be good. I'll be back if it ain't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
We did not care for this. Had to add 4 Tbsp. cornstarch to make it thick enough to make a gravy to pour over noodles, otherwise it would have been way too watery. I thought the flavor was just OK, my husband thought it was awful and said don't make again. I used sirloin instead of stew meat because I thought it would be more tender, but that didn't help. I didn't add the tsp. of salt because I figured it would be salty enough with the soy sauce, and it was (even used low sodium soy sauce), if I had added the extra salt, would probably have been inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Very tasty. I cut the soy sauce in half, added fresh mushrooms and substituted fresh garlic for garlic powder (personal preference). Definitely let the beef simmer as recipe states so it will be tender. This recipe is often requested in my house. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
My husband liked this a lot. It went well over mashed potatos, but would go well with rice or noodles. I changed a couple things just for my personal taste. I added mushrooms and used real garlic and I didn't use as much onion because my husband is not a huge fan of them. I also didn't use as much water because I like my gravy thicker. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very good! The flavor is great! The only thing I would do is maybe double the sauce recipe. We love our noodles saucy! I did not have the onion soup mix, so I used minced onion and some ground beef bouillon.Turned out great! I will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States