Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Loved how fast it was. The meat was tender & the sauce flavorful. I would cut the salt in half next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was yummy . the family likes it,I served it over rice. For some reason I was expecting the gravy to be thicker. meat was fork tender, will make again, maybe next time I will add some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My family loved this. My 6 year old son had THIRDS and ate all of his veggies to get a second helping. I added some sliced mushrooms and replaced the garlic powder with minced garlic. I cooked this for 1.5 hours and the meat was perfectly tender. My husband makes homemade egg noodles, so we added those at the end. I did not add the salt based on other reviews and thought that the level of salt was perfect. No need to add, but not overly salty, either. Because we added the noodles to the dish, we did add the full 1 cup of water with the gravy mix and the thickness of the gravy was perfect. The noodles soaked up some of the liquid and the flour thickened the gravy without needing to add any additional corn starch or flour. I'm pretty sure there will be a mutiny at my house if I do NOT make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Very tasty! I used beef strips intended for stir fry. There were no leftovers when my husband tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittypodz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Followed others advice and used low sodium soy sauce. This was excellent, really good gravy, tender meat. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this last night and we thought it tasted delicious. I used low sodium soy sauce and didn't add any more salt and didn't have a problem with it tasting too salty - and we don't like much salt in our food. I used powdered garlic, but I think next time I will use fresh garlic. I also added 1/2 tsp thyme, which I think I will increase to 1 tsp next time. I used very lean beef, and found it was a little on the chewy side, so next time I will cook this on a lower heat for at least 2 hours - probably in the oven or slow cooker. But all in all, this was a good dish. The flavor of the gravy was amazing and I wouldn't recommend reducing the quantities of soy sauce or worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was really good, although I feel it was too much Worcestershire sauce. It kind of overpowered everything. Next time I'll add a tbsp at a time until its to my liking. My husband didn't think it was too much, which is strange since he can be picky. I don't think it was too salty, although I used reduced sodium soy sauce and McCormick reduced sodium gravy packet. I also eliminated the extra salt. I could see how it would be waaay too salty as written. Served with egg noodles and had baby carrots on the side. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveearth2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Pretty good but I found the soy sauce to be very overwhelming for the dish. I think I might replace it with beef broth next time. It was very salty for me and my husband and I even left out the salt it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My family loves this recipe I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I lovemyfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 131-140 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States