Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Some of the most flavorful and tender meat we have eaten in a long time. I followed the directions and served this over egg noodles. This was a popular dinner....no leftovers. This would be just as excellent over rice or mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Omg.. loved it.. I didnt even need the gravy mix.. i kept adding water and just added flour to make the gravy.. yum.. reminds me of my mamas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Very tasty, but quite salty. I used no salt and only 1 T. Worcestershire sauce, but the full 1/2 c. soy sauce. I'll use less soy sauce next time. Also used only 1/2 c. water with the gravy mix and let it simmer uncovered for about 15 minutes after adding and the consistency was perfect! I cooked it for 2 hours total and the meat was very tender. Not sure why others would have tough meat unless they're not using stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
It was even better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was amazing! My father said it was the best meal I have ever cooked. I followed many other users suggestions. First I sauteed portobella mushrooms with the onions. I subsituted beef broth for the 2 cups water and added 1/4 cup red wine to the liquid mixture. I also used fresh garlic rather than powedered and NO SALT! This recipe doesn't need any salt with the amount from everything else. I cooked everything for 50 minutes then added frozen peas. I waited 10 minutes than added the gravy mixture for another 30 minutes uncovered. This is a must cook dish! Definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I cooked just as the recipe specified and it wasn't too salty. I usually dont add much salt but this time I did and I'm glad! It was DELICIOUS! My husband loved it too. I cooked with rice and steamed carrots. I did double the gravy amount because we love some gravy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very good recipe. Didnt add the extra salt due to the soy sauce and worcestershire sauce already being so salty. The sauce was way too thin, so I added 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, and an extra dry pack of gravy mix to thicken it up, otherwise it would have been like a soup! Turned out very good. I also seasoned my beef tips and marinated them in meat tenderizer 3-4 hours before cooking. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I added a bit of corn starch to thicken it up some more, but I think that is the only change necessary. Growing up my mom always got the beef tips and gravy from schwans, and I think this recipe tastes just like theirs! i highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
A good base recipe. I modified this quite a bit. I sauteed an onion with 2 cloves fresh chopped garlic. Then dusted beef with flour and browned. Added 1/4 cup of red wine. Added 2 cups of water, 2 cloves smashed garlic, 5 or 6 splashes of worcestershire, 3 splashes of low sodium soy, 1/2 Knorrs homestyle beef stock, Lots of fresh cracked pepper, some dried thyme, 2 bay leaves, dried rosemary, reduced heat and simmered for 1 hour. Then added diced green pepper, and a touch of salt. Simmered 30 min. Served with white rice. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I dumped it all in the crock pot. It was OK. I will try again with higher quality meat (we used some given to us that was not our usual). Served over brown rice. I left out salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States