Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
This was convenient to make, even when taking the extra step of browning the meat for additional flavour. Unfortunately rhere's no escaping how the inclusion of this recipe's many processed ingredients affects the taste. and health. We did eat the dish but I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
Perfect as written but I didn't add the salt and I used leftover porter house steak from last night.only simmered 1/2 hour.Served over egg noodles and with steamed broccoli YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
This was my first attempt ever at making beef tips and I thought it was to die for!!! My wife also loved it but said she thought it was a bit too salty so, maybe next time, I may try with a low sodium Soy sauce or even omit the teaspoon of salt. I served it over mashed potatoes with a side of corn on the cob. just couldn't get enough. absolutely LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I have made this several times. It's one of my and my husband's favorite. I use minced garlic instead of the powder and sauté it with the onion. Also I find that 1 1/2 hours is enough cooking time. I also only use 1/2 cup of water with the brown gravy or it comes out to watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
this recipe was super easy and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I would suggest less pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This was good but way too salty and I have even cut the salt back to half a teaspoon. Next time I think I would leave it out. I did like the flavor of the meal and everyone ate it but it was just too much salt. I had even cut back on the pepper and garlic half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Great recipe. I did make a few changes based on comments. I used Guidry's instead of of the onion (Guidry's creole mix is onions, green onions, bell pepper, celery, garlic, & parsley), used a little extra garlic, added no salt, added extra pepper, added fresh sliced mushrooms, and instead of the small gravy packet (.75 oz) I used Pioneer which comes in a 1.6 ounce size. I did not mix the gravy packet with water; I whisked it in dry. Husband ate two large plates. It's going on the menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This is definitely a recipe that you will make again and again. My family and I absolutely love it! I learned after the first time I made it that it was too salty (even for me!) and so the last time I made it I omitted the salt and used low sodium soy sauce and gravy mixes. Much better when I made it that way. I find it does not thicken up the way that I would like so next time (which there definitely will be) I'm going to try the suggestion given in the top rated review by Corina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Read all the reviews and decided to take Corrina's advise (the Most Helpful Positive Review). I used 1 cup of beef broth and 1 cup Merlot instead of 2 cups water. I also started off with 2 lbs of sirloin and used 2 brown gravy packs straight into the pot without mixing. My wife told me this is why she married me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roadrunner1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States