Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Very salty. I think using low sodium soy sauce and low sodium gravy would help this. I simmered the beef for an hour and added water to it to keep it covered. I added the packet of gravy with 2 Tbsp. Of water and simmered 30 min longer. The flavor of this recipe is very good. Next time I will make this with the above notes and in the crockpot. Cooking in thr crockpot will make the meat much more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
My large family of all ages loved it. I too put in crock pot. 4-5hrs high, for 4 hrs then low. Didn't sauté onions, just threw in crock pot. I used veg broth( didn't have beef broth) for water. Used LOW sodium soy. I did need to transfer to large pot at end to bring to boil to get gravy to thicken, actually had to use cornstarch/water to thicken, even after brown gravy pkg. sure will make this a repeat. Used mashed potatoes instead of noodles. What a great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This is very similar to my own go to recipe. I always use purple onion slices, fresh minced garlic, and add some cream of mushroom. I usually slow cook the meat and sauce together, and this works great with deer steak. Also I rub the meat with onion soup mix, steak season and olive oil and sear I lock in juices before putting in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was really really salty. I had a hard time finishing half of it and ended up only eating plain noodles. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Canfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim Wilson
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is fantastic ! Even better topped with Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow family
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Probably the 4th or 5th time I have used this recipe. Followed it with no adjustments. Turns out absolutely perfect. A hit with our family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
We made this recipe exactly as written. My husband is a salt everything kind of guy, he even said it was too salty !! I will adjust the original recipe ! WARNING....you will not be able to eat it if you make it as written, without something to wash it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Clements
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I was hesitant. I was doubtful. I thought the meat would need more cooking time to be tender. I halved the recipe because I only had a pound of meat. The only things I did differently were omitting the salt and I only simmered for about 90 minutes. Right up until I took my first bite, I was prepared for chewy meat. I was wrong. It was fab. I will make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I added 2 tblsp of spicy mustard (Chinese restruant style) and some crushed red pepper. Let it simmer until the sauce thickened and served with rice pilaf! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
so yummy...... Made as is and everyone asks for it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kckshops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States