Beef Tenderloin With Roasted Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Really good flavor. I had no idea what shallots were before this recipe. I'll definitely use them in the future! I accidentally used too much tomato paste, but the sauce was still pretty good. I used filet mignon because that was the closest thing I could find. The recipe could use more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was FANTASTIC!!!! I made this for hubby for Valentine's day and since it was only 2 of us and the roast cost $45 I picked out some nice steaks instead. But everything else I followed exactly as written. I made garlic mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus as my sides. Hubby said it was better then a 5 star restaurant. I didn't blend up the shallots and bacon because I knew my husband and I wouldn't mind the chunks in the gravy.. OMG this gravy was incredible, specially over the potatoes! I didn't even know what a shallot was till this recipe but it MADE the dish! DON'T LEAVE THEM OUT!!! I took the suggestions to make a few things ahead of time like cook the bacon and make the shallots wine sauce the day before and it just made dinner super easy to prepare for our special dinner. I will someday spend the money on the roast but even on nice steaks this was amazing! Thank you for making my Valentine's Day extra special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this for multiple years for Christmas dinner. It's so true what other people are saying...You really can cut the meat with a fork or butter knife. It is so tender! The flavor of the gravy is the best part! I served this with a tossed salad, roasted carrots, fresh bread and loaded baked potatoes. My family loves this recipe! We had it last night and they are still talking about how tender the meat was and it makes the best sandwiches the next day if you are lucky enough to have leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This will be the 3rd or 4th Christmas that I'm making this. It is amazing. I make the sauce the day before, use the blender as others have said. Any leftover gravy is frozen and mixed into ground meat for burgers later in the year. Truly our "meal of the year" each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I don't know why I haven't reviewed this before. It is outstanding. I too, made the gravy a day ahead and blended it. I had to buy a five lb filet because that was all I could find. I cut it into portions to save for another day. The gravy is five stars and would be great on any cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is a wonderful dish. Rich, delicious, and tender. We absolutely love it. Take time, as others said, to prepare the shallots and sauce before hand to save on stress so you can have time with guests/family,and not stuck in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
PHENOMENAL! Somewhat of a pain in the butt to make, but WELL WORTH IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I've made this a few times, but used filet mignon instead of a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was a great meal. I used a tri-tip cut of meat and it turned out fantastic. A great dish to welcome my daughter back home from camp with. My husband couldn't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 856) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States