Beef Tenderloin With Roasted Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
I have made this several times now. I follow the recipe exactly except I used a Shiraz instead of Port. I couldn't find a Port wine and I read that a good substitute was a Shiraz, Chianti or Merlot. My family loves it and it turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
One of my all time favorites!! Easy, delicious and a real guest pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Unbelievable sauce!! I love this recipe and have made it for many special occasions in our home. It is delicious and leftovers are even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Added mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Amazing! I followed the recipe as its shown and the meal was incredible. My boyfriend claimed it's the best roast he's ever had :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This recipe is probably one of the best things I have ever made and I cook a lot. Delicious. I made it for Christmas dinner and it got rave reviews from everyone. I had a 4 1/2 lb. roast and it took about 45 minutes to get to medium rare. I took the advice of other reviewers and put the bacon and shallots into the beef broth/port wine sauce and used my immersion blender to make a smooth gravy. Even the kids loved it. This one will be a permanent fixture in my holiday meals!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I tried this recipe because of all the good reviews. I have never made beef tenderloin before. I made this for Christmas dinner and it was awesome!! The sauce in itself was AMAZING!! I would make that sauce for any beef dish!! It was really good. I didn't double it and I had plenty. This is definitely a go to recipe if you need a fancy beef dish! Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Incredible !! The shallots make this dish ! I agrees that , that is a lot of sauce for 2lbs of meat so I would probably cut it in half Next time . I got soOo many compliments ! I will be making this recipe for many family gatherings to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Really good flavor. I had no idea what shallots were before this recipe. I'll definitely use them in the future! I accidentally used too much tomato paste, but the sauce was still pretty good. I used filet mignon because that was the closest thing I could find. The recipe could use more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was FANTASTIC!!!! I made this for hubby for Valentine's day and since it was only 2 of us and the roast cost $45 I picked out some nice steaks instead. But everything else I followed exactly as written. I made garlic mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus as my sides. Hubby said it was better then a 5 star restaurant. I didn't blend up the shallots and bacon because I knew my husband and I wouldn't mind the chunks in the gravy.. OMG this gravy was incredible, specially over the potatoes! I didn't even know what a shallot was till this recipe but it MADE the dish! DON'T LEAVE THEM OUT!!! I took the suggestions to make a few things ahead of time like cook the bacon and make the shallots wine sauce the day before and it just made dinner super easy to prepare for our special dinner. I will someday spend the money on the roast but even on nice steaks this was amazing! Thank you for making my Valentine's Day extra special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States