Beef Tenderloin in Creamy Porcini Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I substitued fresh chanterelle mushrooms and the flavor was incredible. Also, I used Elk tenderloin, which, in my opinion, is far superior to beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
It took a bite of work but it was one of the best beef dishes we have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
all I can say is YUM!! Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
An excellent dish! It proved convenient as well for dinner with friends. I made it in the morning till the point before you put it in the oven. I kept it in the fridge and then, while we were having a drink with appetizers at dinner, I put it in the oven for 20 minutes! If you like your meat well done though, you should leave it longer, maybe 30. The porcinis are delicious and the sauce didn't come out thin at all and I used light cream, not the thick kind. However, next time I think I will omit the stock cube as it takes away the totally 'home made' feel from the dish. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This beef recipe is delicious. My DH and I both loved it. I had 1 pound of beef tenderloin that I cut up into medallions myself. This is a cheaper way to go. I also only had 1/2 oz of dried porcini mushrooms and used 1/2 cup of water to hydrate, used vidalia onion and 3 large cloves of garlic. I browned the meat thoroughly and left a very pink center. 20 minutes in the oven was perfect and the meat came out medium rare. Perfection. Try this recipe you won't be diasppointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Taber Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was very good! I used venison tenderloin and portabella mushrooms. I cooked the onions and mushrooms AFTER I cooked the meat to utilize the pan drippings and therefore omit the bullion cube. My sauce didn't thicken as many others mentioned, so next time I will cook it a bit longer and ensure it thickens before I roast it all in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
My boyfriend surprised me by making this dish....so it's not that difficult. :-) The flavors are delicious and we've added it to our list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Really great with beef but even better with a pork roast. Try it out. I have also substituted shallots for the red onions. They are a bit more subtle than the red onions. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDSINTHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
After reading several expert reviews, I used 3/4 oz. dried porcini mushrooms in 2/3 cup water, thickened sauce with roux, omitted cube, vidalia onion, and a splash of cabernet. Had 1 1/2 " medallions seared in pan and finished in oven without sauce on them uncovered for 15 minutes for medium rare. Served with sauce and garlic mashed potatoes. Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
a 5 star recipe, perfect for dinner guests. Always impresses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States