Beef Tenderloin in Creamy Porcini Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
It took a bite of work but it was one of the best beef dishes we have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This really didn't have that much flavor. The sauce was much too thin. All in all, it was a lot of work for a mediocre meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I thought this meal was REALLY good, simple, easy to follow, and worthy of beef tenderloin. LOVE the 'shrooms! Thanks for sharing such a delicious and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This was good. We used an obscene amount of garlic (that's how things are done in my house) and also alot of pepper. I also went overboard with the mushrooms, which may have given it a stronger flavor than it needed. The sauce did thin out a bit once it was in the oven with the tenderloins-I'm positive it will thicken with the leftovers. My picky seven year old who doesn't even like steak devoured it- and my husband loved it.We'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raiven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
all I can say is YUM!! Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I made this dish for Christmas Eve last year. The flavor was spectacular, but I will include some type of thickening agent next time as the sauce is on the thin side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Howe-DiGrezia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very good. I found 15 minutes was not quite long enough in the oven and my meat was stil quite raw. I went 20 minutes but unless you like your beef still bleeding, I'd go as long as 30minutes for a rare to med-rare piece of beef, depending on how thick your medallions are (mine were about 1 1/2 inches). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNEND

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I guess I was expecting more from this dish. My husband and I are constantly trying to out do each other in the kitchen and this just didn't cut the 5 star quality that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
An excellent dish! It proved convenient as well for dinner with friends. I made it in the morning till the point before you put it in the oven. I kept it in the fridge and then, while we were having a drink with appetizers at dinner, I put it in the oven for 20 minutes! If you like your meat well done though, you should leave it longer, maybe 30. The porcinis are delicious and the sauce didn't come out thin at all and I used light cream, not the thick kind. However, next time I think I will omit the stock cube as it takes away the totally 'home made' feel from the dish. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Husband is a meat and potatoes guy - I like more "sophisticated" food. This dish appealed to both of us, is good for company also because it can seem elegant and doesn't tie you up in the kitchen for too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States