Beef Tenderloin in a Port Shiitake Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is easily one of the best dishes I have ever made. It is a costly recipe if you do something wrong or burn something, so novices beware. It is very important that you remove the beef from heat when it is rare/medium-rare as it will continue to cook off the stove. Do not server tenderlion more cooked than medium-rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scuba Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
The reduction is a keeper, for sure. Personal taste, but I think I'm going to try it again without cubing the tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave The Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I use Portabella mushrooms and brown sugar instead of Shitake and raspberry jam. It is still outstanding. I also use a very nice port, Graham's 10 year,tawny porto. This recipe has easily moved into my top ten. I have so much fun preparing this dish in anticipation of serving it to friends and enjoying it myself. Thank you 'All Recipes'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Delicious! I was worried about it being a little too sweet but it turned out pretty amazing. I made it for an early Valentine's Day dinner and it was a great choice for the occasion. I didn't cube the meat because I wanted the cuts whole, so I seared the tenderloins an cooked them in the oven at 500 degrees for 4 minutes and let them sit on the pan will a foil tent for a few minutes before placing them in the skillet with the reduction sauce at a medium low heat for 4 more minutes on each side which got them to a perfect medium-rare. The sauce did reduce a bit faster than 30 minutes so this is definitely a recipe you have to watch closely. Little bit of modifications but it was a big hit for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Excellent dish, wouldn't change a thing. Only thing to consider is quanity, this is more of a 2 serving dish. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I am rating this one for my hubby. He loved it. I am not a big fan of port wine but I made this more for him as he is. The sauce was too sweet for me (port is sweet) but the taste of the meat was wonderful and tender. I was told this is now his favorite recipe! I left the mushrooms whole as this was his preference otherwise followed directions to a "T". My youngest son also rated a 5. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe is one to keep for another try. I must say that it turned out very well and rich. It is not my favorite way to prepare tenderloin, but I will try it with chicken next time. If you are looking to prepare this along with the suggested side-dishes from the recipe's author, be careful. There is indeed a lot of sweetness to this dish as well as the others. My rating is based on the dish as a stand-alone. Texture and flavor were great--enjoyment of preparation also gets five stars. Nicely done jonnyd523. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Really good recipe! It was a little too sweet, so next time I will leave out the jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
FYI, the wine store recommended using ruby port, instead of a white or tawny port.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This really is a good recipe, I've made it several times now and It's now on a regular rotation at the house. I've substituted stew meat instead of tenderloin in the past and it has come out just fine. It's the flavor that really works for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States