Beef Tenderloin in a Port Shiitake Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Fantastic!! And very easy! I used a pork tenderloin instead of beef- which was a delicious substitute. We will most certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This really is a good recipe, I've made it several times now and It's now on a regular rotation at the house. I've substituted stew meat instead of tenderloin in the past and it has come out just fine. It's the flavor that really works for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is a very good recipe, but it would be better to have more vegitables, or a bed of rice to complete the meal. For the initial cooking of the meat, I would recommend grilling slightly below desired doneness, as the re-heating at the end does make it a bit darker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This was really outstanding! The raspberry preserves give it a little something extra. We used skirt steak instead of filet mignon - I'm sure the filet would have made it even better, but the skirt steak was very serviceable and brought the price down. We also found that it took far less than 30 minutes to reduce. For our group of four, it was plenty of food along with a vegetable and a salad. We will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
We didn't even have the right amount of port and this turned out awesome!! I'm not a huge mushroom fan and the shiitake really added a nice texture and soaked in the yummy sauce. I'm also not a big meat eater but I couldn't get enough! My husband was also very impressed. We will definitely make this again. We didn't cook the reduction for the full 30 minutes as we had less port than called for and it seemed to reduce really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is easily one of the best dishes I have ever made. It is a costly recipe if you do something wrong or burn something, so novices beware. It is very important that you remove the beef from heat when it is rare/medium-rare as it will continue to cook off the stove. Do not server tenderlion more cooked than medium-rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scuba Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I am guessing I did something wrong because the port reduction was horrid. The port and rasberry sauce made it way to sweet and I could never figure out how to fix it. Also, someone suggested doubling it for 4 people. That was way too much meat for 4 people. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haworth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was great! One reccomendation is to shorten the reduction time and stir throughout, the first time I attempted this I filled the apartment with smoke but it smelled so good before it burnt that I tried again... and was glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Best meal I have ever made in my life. Won my new boyfriend over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe. I used sherry and port wine. Even used canned mushrooms. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States