Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I have made these a few times now. This recipe is really awesome as is - but I found an easier & tastier way to do it after making it many times the way listed. I use the recipe on this site for Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat. Its very easy to make, & makes the tamales SO much tastier! I make the meat one day in the crockpot, then refrigerate it overnight. This makes it easier to remove any fat. Just pluck off any fat the next morning & follow the recipe for the tamale dough, although I use vegetable shortening instead of lard. Make sure to keep a little water or beef broth on hand to dip your spreading knife into to make spreading the dough onto the corn husks a little easier. If you put a can of beef broth in the stockpot with a little water while you are steaming them, it makes the dough tastier as well. Instead of using butchers twine, I just tear off thin strips of the corn husks & tie them with that. These are really good to freeze too. Place in a freezer bag, and pop in the freezer for up for 6 months. To reheat, steam for 15-20 mins or wrap in a damp paper towel & microwave for 3-7 mins, depending on the microwave. Steaming them will produce a moister tamale. To reheat refrigerated tamales, wrap in a damp paper towel & microwave for about 1-2 mins. You could also steam them for about 5 mins. Make sure you leave the corn husk on while reheating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1021 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
if you have never attempted tamales, here are some important tips: boil garlic and dried or fresh peppers in water(your favorite kind of pepper)for 30-ish minutes then cook the meat in that broth(leave peppers/garlic in) and add lots of spices. This broth flavors the meat very well--I like spice so I use tons of peppers and garlic. The meat should be cooked long enough that it practically crumbles to the touch--this makes it easier and faster to shred by hand--I usually cook mine 4 hours to overnigt depending on the cut of meat. Boiling the meat is actually the only thing it needs cooking wise--but it depends on whether you boil in the meat in all the spices or add them later. I soak my corn husks in hot/boiling water--this makes them softer faster. Two important things to remember: masa is very bland and there is no substitute for lard! I keep my meat juice for masa flavoring but still add other stuff--El Pato (mexican style tomato sauce)if you can find it is spectacular! When making the tamales, the corn husks should only be about five inches across--any larger need to be sized! (Line the meat along the edge and roll like a cigar) If I plan on freezing I cook them only half the time--also, don't load to many in the steamer or they won't cook evenly! When you place them in the steamer they need to be standing up as much as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
588 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
A little advice about mixing masa: add the lard to your dry ingredients and mix very well by hand. Begin adding your meat broth a little at a time until you get peanut butter consistancy, and to be really sure your batter is ready, drop a bit into a glass of water. If it floats to the top, it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
A cultural note for everyone who says the tamale recipes take too long. Traditionally a family will have a "tamalada"- a get together where family will work together assembling the tamales. Making tamales is a time consuming process but when you do it this way, you will have an opportunity to visit with family and develop family bonds. (It is great with friends too...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This was my first attempt at making Tamales. Instead of combining the masa, lard, and salt myself, I went to the local Hispanic grocery store and bought a 5lb bag of prepared masa. I put 4 1/2 cups of water with the chuck roast. I had 5 cups of beef stock after the roast was cooked. I boiled the stock down to 1 1/2 cups and mixed it in with the prepared masa to get the consistency required. I used a single 8 oz. package of husks with plenty left over. This recipe was not a waste of time. I prefer a little more flavor and a lot more heat than what was in this recipe, but then my wife and son would not have been able to enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
This is a good recipe. It's easy, but very time consuming. Instead of steaming the tamales by laying them down in a basket, try inverting a bowl in a large pot and standing the tamales on end around the bowl to create a funnel effect. It's faster and easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I loved this recipe! It was a bit time consuming, but well worth the effort. Everybody who tried them loved them, even those who have lived in Mexico for a couple of years. I scaled up the meat part of the recipe to use 6 lbs of rump roast (it was on sale :) and cut back the masa recipe to use 1 lb of lard and 6 cups of the corn meal masa mix. I also boiled down the water the beef cooked in so it would add more flavor to the masa when it was added. I added 2 tsp of salt to this amount of masa, and 1 Tbsp to the meat mix, and it turned out really well. I ended up using 1 8-0z package of corn husks, all of the masa that I had made, and about 1/2 of the meat for about 4 doz tamales. I have the rest of the meat frozen so it will be easier to make next time. I had a big pot and was able to fit all the tamales in (they were a little tightly packed) and steamed them for 2 hours to make sure they were done. The masa turned out nice and light and oh so tasty! Next time I think I'm going to double the amount of ancho chiles used to make them a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe is a good one but two other things should be mentioned when making Tamales, the corn husks must be very clean from the corn silk and when the Tamales are ready to be steamed they should not be standing in water or the water level should be just below the steamer rack. Also the tamales should be covered with a clean dry dish towel before the steamer lid is added. This helps keep the moisture from steeping out. I have made tamales my whole life with my mother ,grandmothers, aunts and sisters and when the steamer needs more water added we add boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
Well tamales are never easy to make, but this recioe made it not very complicated..thank you! What a wonderful taste to the meat. I simmered the meat in a crock pot overnight, so it made the process one step better. I used more chilis and more cumin, just because I prefer more heat. It turned out great. More stock is needed when making the masa harina to make it not so dry when cooked. Be sure to get friends involved in the process...it's an ALL DAY EVENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
FABULOUS!! Finally I have found THE recipe!! Very easy to make. I couldn't find packaged corn husks, but had the produce man at the grocery store save fresh corn husks for me. They worked out great!! You have to try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States