Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These were quite a trial to make the first time but they are absolutely delicious. And VERY worth the time. I will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was my 2nd time making tamales. The first time I made them, I used canned red chile sauce. They were good that way, but this sauce has a lot more flavor. I would suggest using more than 1 cup broth. I used about 2 1/2 c. of broth and it was a lot saucier that way. I will double the recipe for the sauce next time so that I have some left over to pour over the finished tamales. Also, I used pork roast which I prepared in the crock pot the day before to save the time of having to prepare the roast the day I made them. Very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomofTynTrev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
The beef is so good it could be used for tacos alone. I braised the beef in broth instead of water and added a chopped onion to add more flavor. I also added extra paprika and replaced cayenne for the crushed red pepper. I felt like the rue needed more than 1 cup, I ended using about 3 cups. I also replaced the salt with a beef bouilion cube to bump up the beef flavor. It was so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
These are very tasty. I did not have ancho's so I used regular chili powder. Cooking the meat mixture adds to the flavor. thanks for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Only used the recipe for the masa and it came out very good. I plan to make the meat next time but I really like using my pork for tamales. I wish someone would post what the consistency is supposed to be like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I really like this recipe. I have made it many times now. If followed exactly, I found it a little too mild spice-wise, but that is easily remedied with hotter chilies. Also, you don't have to limit your filling options to only beef. I have made this recipe with pork shoulder and chicken also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was my first attempt in the tamale making, and I will definately try these again; making it exactly as listed. I took the advise of a review that said these were too greasy, and being on a diet; omitted 1 c of lard and substittuted beef broth in it's place. Everyone loved them but I think it would be much better with the full 3 cups! If you are going to spend all that time in the kitchen, indulge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
To cut time and make this much easier. I suggest buying prepared masa from a local Mexican market or supermarket that has a good Mexican selection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mad River, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe is a good one but two other things should be mentioned when making Tamales, the corn husks must be very clean from the corn silk and when the Tamales are ready to be steamed they should not be standing in water or the water level should be just below the steamer rack. Also the tamales should be covered with a clean dry dish towel before the steamer lid is added. This helps keep the moisture from steeping out. I have made tamales my whole life with my mother ,grandmothers, aunts and sisters and when the steamer needs more water added we add boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I have been making tamales at Christmas time for about 4 years now. I previously used the recipe on the masa harina bag and "tweeked" that a little bit. However after reading this recipe, I decided to try it and had very good results. For those of you who cringe at using lard, try using just the meat broth. It already has the fat rendered down and there seems to be enough fat in the broth to keep the masa formed correctly around the filling. For the first time I used others sugestions of boiling the dried chilies together, adding some cumin and garlic and some salt. Boil in 2 cups of water for about 20 min and then cool. Remove the stems and seeds and then put in a blender. Add this mixture to the meat as it cooks. It adds wonderful flavor. I would recommend reading other reviews and follow tips that make this easier. I never needed to soak corn husks for 3 hours. Maybe 1 hr, just put them in a pot of hot water on the stove and med heat. They don't need to boil. Just separate in the pot to get them to loosen up. This is a lot of work but well wort it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States