Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
i have a serious passion for my friends mom's tamales never been able to get anything like hers athentic granit she is mexican and lived in mexico her whole life i love this recipe i made it to the tee and i swear i think they are better.,... so glad tamales have always been a mystery to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
After reading the mostly great reviews I was very excited, until I ate one after all these hours of preparation. The meat filling was tasty and juicy. It was the dough that was flavorless. I prepared exactly as stated in this recipe. I will not make this again, but at least it gave me a starting point with a good shredded beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
They were great I added cheese while they steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I followed the suggestion to use Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat instead of the recipe's meat recipe. The slow cooker beef was certainly tender enough but lacked almost all flavor. I had to add the recipe's cumin and garlic and oregano and vinegar afterwards to step up the flavor. I'll try the original recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great! Try trimming all fat from beef and slow cooking for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipie is fairly easy but I think I did something wrong because my tamales turned out a little dry. I followed the recipie to the letter and I dont know were I went wrong. Maybe next time they wont be so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Minot Afb, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent recipe! I have moved and left my recipe in storage so I was looking for an authentic Mexican recipe and this fit the bill. I don't add the chilies. However, I do add chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
After living in PHoenix for 3 years, my husband begged me to try tamales this year. I must say, this recipe is far better than good. I read a couple of recipes, so I wandered a little from this recipe. I used the Ancho chiles, but also used 4 oz. of the New Mexico chiles. Plus I used 1 BULB of garlic for the meat preparation, as well as 1 BULB of garlic in the chile preparation. As for the chile preparation, I used a totally different method, which took far less effort. I removed stems and seeds. Then placed all chiles in stock pot with enough water to just cover them. I boiled them for about 30 minutes with 1/2 sliced onion, cumin, garlic, oregano, and white vinegar. I let this cool slightly, and then placed chiles and 2 ladles of chile broth into a blender. Blend on high for about 1 min. until thoroughly liquified. I had to do this in batches. Then I poured blended mixture into large bowl, and stirred once all of the chiles and juice were blended to incorporate it all together. This was WONDERFUL! Note that chile mixture will be slightly bitter, but flavors of the meat and the sweetness of the masa balanced this all out in the end. I cannot tell you how pleased I was with this outcome. BEST tamales ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These were quite a trial to make the first time but they are absolutely delicious. And VERY worth the time. I will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was my 2nd time making tamales. The first time I made them, I used canned red chile sauce. They were good that way, but this sauce has a lot more flavor. I would suggest using more than 1 cup broth. I used about 2 1/2 c. of broth and it was a lot saucier that way. I will double the recipe for the sauce next time so that I have some left over to pour over the finished tamales. Also, I used pork roast which I prepared in the crock pot the day before to save the time of having to prepare the roast the day I made them. Very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomofTynTrev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States