Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I followed some of the suggestions from the other ladies and they came out delicious. The only thing I'll do different next time is cook them probably about 15-20 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is a pretty way to make tamales but I agree with others that using pork is better. Make sure to brown the meat, onions, and garlice before simmering with spices for better flavor. Also, use the fatty broth strained in greater ratio to the masa and lard. I use a teaspoon of baking powder for a fluffier dough. To avoid soggy tamales you must place shucks in the bottom of your steamer while steaming! Otherwise the water really soaks them. Before eating or storing they must cool down on a sheet to firm up. I freeze mine raw to steam fresh for parties. Most people have never had a tamale fresh out of the steamer. Reheated will never be the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This recipe was a real lifesaver. I am a recent export from Texas, and was beginning to think I would die if I couldn't get my hands on some tamales. The meat was wonderful and juicy! I invited some friends over (some who had never heard of tamales, and we spent the day together making tamales and drinking margaritas. Thanks for the great recipe. Will be doing this again for Christmas. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe. I have never made tameles befor and this made it very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
So yummy! The masa harina took me a while to find, but I think it completes the dish, and am glad I was able to get my hands on some. These are quite a bit of work, but plenty well worth it in the end. Will definitely be making these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Thanks for the great idea redneckwoman, this made the recipe even better. It does take a long time, but it is so worth it. My family loves tamale making time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Thanks to "Redneckwoman", I improvised my meat to include all the fixings from her recommended recipe! Rave reviews on the meat. Excellent idea! I also used vegetable shortening instead of lard, but it does make for a "softer" tamale, which does not firm much even after refridgeration. I had enough masa afterwards, that I experimented and made Jalapeno Cheddar tamales for some of our vegetarian friends. Yummmmm. Tip: Less Masa, more filling. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QurlyQs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
My wife and I have been makin tamales for years. We've always made chicken. I'm making beef, similar to this recipe, but we are doing everything except steaming them. We are steaming a day later, will this be okay? They are in the fridge with plastic on them. Oh, and I've never used lard, and people say my tamales are delicious. We have always used butter, yup, butter. Sorry, but pig fat just grosses us out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I changed this recipe to a vegetarian version and used spicy lentils in place of the meat, and vegetable broth instead of the lard in the masa. I didn't use the butcher's twine, instead just folded the ends and steamed them like that-I added spicy chipotle peppers to the lentils for an extra kick, and ended up with about 8 dozen. To finish them, I threw them on a hot grill to burn the husks to add a charcoal-smokiness. The finished product was smoky, flavorful, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potterville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Having made Tamales for many many years, I prefer using pork roast. Has more flavor & juices than beef.I prefer using red chili pods, stems and seeds removed. Placed in a blender and processed until smooth. One other reminder, the lard mixed into the Masa Harina really makes a big difference in taste. I would never use veggie oil as stated by another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States