Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and these had absolutely no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
What more can I say but MMMMMMMM! Outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopewell, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This recipe is actually very good. I used pork carnitas and menudo seasoning along with the other spices. I toasted my peppers with some liquid before adding everything together and seasoned my masa with more menudo seasoning for better flavor. The picture posted of these really looks nothing like what they should. Tamales should not be that thick and by all means should not have a red (blood like) sauce seeping from them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
A great and as easy as it can be recipe! The masa was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I have made tamales for years, and this is a good recipe. I just wanted to say that IF you love tamales but can't eat them due to the fattening nature of the ingredients, there is a very good substitute. You can use water (yes, water) instead of lard. And if you need less meat you can use the same spices in some blended blackeyed peas for the filling. Now I know this is not the SAME, but it IS quite good and would be a great way to once again have tamales even though your doctor has said 'NO.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granmary8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Cameron, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was time consuming but worth it! We made extra so we could eat them all week. I think adding the cooking liquid to the masa made them extra special. definately will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This is a great recipe. Next time I make it I will definitely increase the salt. I did not add a lot out of fear that the tamales would be too salty. I did find it easier to puree the peppers in my blender with a cup of the beef broth. When I attempted to grind them in my mortar, it did not do anything. Another difference is I added baking powder to the tamale dough because the masa corn that I purchased indicated this as a key ingredient. My tamales came out great. I bought 5 bags of corn husks instead of 3 and I used most of them. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERYNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
this is by far the best recipe for tamales, the cooking liquid is key to a very good masa. Making these tamales are a treat worth waiting for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Markell

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I found these to be really easy. I was really pleased with myself, until I took off the corn husks , it just started to crumple. I dont know what I did wrong. Did I not add enough liquid to the masa?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I should have listened to everybody else when they told me tamales were an all day task! The meat was really good (I may use it for taco filling, etc.), but next time, I will cook it in the slow-cooker ahead of time. The directions were fantastic and very detailed.. great for a beginner like me! However, my only qualm with this recipe is the masa. Did I select the wrong masa? Anyhow, it was very dry. I may have to increase the lard next time (never thought I'd say that!!). Also, when we ran out of masa, I used 1/3 lard and 2/3 shortening.. big mistake.. they turned out crumbly and flavorless. I will try again next year, but will tweak the recipe some. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States