Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
It really does take all day! I didn't have ancho chilies so I added more red pepper flakes. Steamed the tamales and then let them sit on the counter for about 30 minutes to harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I tried these, they are the best I have ever had. I think they are as good as any Mexican restaurant. They are a lot of work ,but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was a good recipe but it I were going to make again I would cut the amount of lard in half they were very greasy and I would add a few more peppers and my tamales steamed for about 2 hours before they were done. Thanks for sharing the recipe we really had fun making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessann5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
THIS RECIPE IS GREAT....I COULD NEVER GET MY MOTHRE IN LAW TO GIVE ME THE RECIPE FOR HER DAM TAMALES..........SMILES .........NOW I HAVE ONE AND THEY AE BETTER THAN HERS...SMILES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS>TINA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
They will never be like my Great Grandmothers........... BUT I had to make several batches to keep this family of 5 happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I used this recipe to make my very first tamales. I was a little nervous because I was going to serve them to guests. They turned out great and a lot easier than I expected. Just time consuming. My only complaint was the meat filling was kind of dry, I will need to think of some sort of sauce to add to it. DO NOT buy as many corn husks as the recipe calls for. I only purchased one package and I still had some left over. Tamales are just about my favorite food around and I am so happy to know that I can make them myself now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These were awesome! We had the kids help out and they made a huge mess...but they were worth it. I asked plenty of people about making tamales and got a lot of feedback. Not one told me that the masa sets after you take them out and allow them to sit. I wish I would have known that. This being my first time, and learning when to take them out, they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These are wonderful. I had no idea what I was getting into. Plan a day in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Overall, this recipe was Okay. First I had way too much meat left over and corn husks as well. I only used one package of corn husks. Second, I dont know if its just my steamer or what, but I had to steam them for 75 minutes instead of the 60 (one hour) that was recommended. Third, the meat mixture really didnt have that much "kick" to it, so I added an extra chile or two, along with some other spices. But this recipe was better than any of the other tamale recipes on here. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I mixed the ground chiles with the beef broth then pushed it through a sieve to get rid of seeds and hard pieces of chile skin. My husband prefers spicier tamales, so I put a small piece of jalapeno in half of the tamales.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States