Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was my first attempt in the tamale making, and I will definately try these again; making it exactly as listed. I took the advise of a review that said these were too greasy, and being on a diet; omitted 1 c of lard and substittuted beef broth in it's place. Everyone loved them but I think it would be much better with the full 3 cups! If you are going to spend all that time in the kitchen, indulge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
To cut time and make this much easier. I suggest buying prepared masa from a local Mexican market or supermarket that has a good Mexican selection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mad River, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe is a good one but two other things should be mentioned when making Tamales, the corn husks must be very clean from the corn silk and when the Tamales are ready to be steamed they should not be standing in water or the water level should be just below the steamer rack. Also the tamales should be covered with a clean dry dish towel before the steamer lid is added. This helps keep the moisture from steeping out. I have made tamales my whole life with my mother ,grandmothers, aunts and sisters and when the steamer needs more water added we add boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I have been making tamales at Christmas time for about 4 years now. I previously used the recipe on the masa harina bag and "tweeked" that a little bit. However after reading this recipe, I decided to try it and had very good results. For those of you who cringe at using lard, try using just the meat broth. It already has the fat rendered down and there seems to be enough fat in the broth to keep the masa formed correctly around the filling. For the first time I used others sugestions of boiling the dried chilies together, adding some cumin and garlic and some salt. Boil in 2 cups of water for about 20 min and then cool. Remove the stems and seeds and then put in a blender. Add this mixture to the meat as it cooks. It adds wonderful flavor. I would recommend reading other reviews and follow tips that make this easier. I never needed to soak corn husks for 3 hours. Maybe 1 hr, just put them in a pot of hot water on the stove and med heat. They don't need to boil. Just separate in the pot to get them to loosen up. This is a lot of work but well wort it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
It really does take all day! I didn't have ancho chilies so I added more red pepper flakes. Steamed the tamales and then let them sit on the counter for about 30 minutes to harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I tried these, they are the best I have ever had. I think they are as good as any Mexican restaurant. They are a lot of work ,but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was a good recipe but it I were going to make again I would cut the amount of lard in half they were very greasy and I would add a few more peppers and my tamales steamed for about 2 hours before they were done. Thanks for sharing the recipe we really had fun making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessann5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
THIS RECIPE IS GREAT....I COULD NEVER GET MY MOTHRE IN LAW TO GIVE ME THE RECIPE FOR HER DAM TAMALES..........SMILES .........NOW I HAVE ONE AND THEY AE BETTER THAN HERS...SMILES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS>TINA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
They will never be like my Great Grandmothers........... BUT I had to make several batches to keep this family of 5 happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I used this recipe to make my very first tamales. I was a little nervous because I was going to serve them to guests. They turned out great and a lot easier than I expected. Just time consuming. My only complaint was the meat filling was kind of dry, I will need to think of some sort of sauce to add to it. DO NOT buy as many corn husks as the recipe calls for. I only purchased one package and I still had some left over. Tamales are just about my favorite food around and I am so happy to know that I can make them myself now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States