Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
My wife and I have been makin tamales for years. We've always made chicken. I'm making beef, similar to this recipe, but we are doing everything except steaming them. We are steaming a day later, will this be okay? They are in the fridge with plastic on them. Oh, and I've never used lard, and people say my tamales are delicious. We have always used butter, yup, butter. Sorry, but pig fat just grosses us out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I changed this recipe to a vegetarian version and used spicy lentils in place of the meat, and vegetable broth instead of the lard in the masa. I didn't use the butcher's twine, instead just folded the ends and steamed them like that-I added spicy chipotle peppers to the lentils for an extra kick, and ended up with about 8 dozen. To finish them, I threw them on a hot grill to burn the husks to add a charcoal-smokiness. The finished product was smoky, flavorful, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potterville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Having made Tamales for many many years, I prefer using pork roast. Has more flavor & juices than beef.I prefer using red chili pods, stems and seeds removed. Placed in a blender and processed until smooth. One other reminder, the lard mixed into the Masa Harina really makes a big difference in taste. I would never use veggie oil as stated by another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This recipe was great. I did add more spices and a lot of salt to the meat and I added all of the same spices to the masa and it turned out great. Thank you for the recipe Christmas is complete with our tamale tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Great recipe. I lost the recipe I got from my friend years ago, and this one gave me a good guide. The only difference was my friend added tomato paste and sauce to her 'gravy' that is added to the meat. Also, when you steam the tamales, don't use water but use beef broth with some garlic cloves and chiles in it. It will give them even more flavor, you'd be surprised! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
a lot of work but worth every minute , we make about 200 and really wow the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I have made these a few times now. This recipe is really awesome as is - but I found an easier & tastier way to do it after making it many times the way listed. I use the recipe on this site for Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat. Its very easy to make, & makes the tamales SO much tastier! I make the meat one day in the crockpot, then refrigerate it overnight. This makes it easier to remove any fat. Just pluck off any fat the next morning & follow the recipe for the tamale dough, although I use vegetable shortening instead of lard. Make sure to keep a little water or beef broth on hand to dip your spreading knife into to make spreading the dough onto the corn husks a little easier. If you put a can of beef broth in the stockpot with a little water while you are steaming them, it makes the dough tastier as well. Instead of using butchers twine, I just tear off thin strips of the corn husks & tie them with that. These are really good to freeze too. Place in a freezer bag, and pop in the freezer for up for 6 months. To reheat, steam for 15-20 mins or wrap in a damp paper towel & microwave for 3-7 mins, depending on the microwave. Steaming them will produce a moister tamale. To reheat refrigerated tamales, wrap in a damp paper towel & microwave for about 1-2 mins. You could also steam them for about 5 mins. Make sure you leave the corn husk on while reheating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1040 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I followed the directions verbatim and the results were amazing!!! I am going to double it next time to share with friends and co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
this is a great recipe, very easy! I used pork loin with NM green chiles and some chipotle peppers as well.. and they're divine. I found the roll-up instructions a little vague, but found a bunch of websites that give you a visual. My husband helped me roll them, and we both sort of found our own favorite method. I will make them again soon with beef... very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This turned out delicious. I did a short cut and bought premixed tamale dough to save a little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States