Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
awsome yummm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
While I have not yet made this recipe, I have made tamales in the past. I lost my recipe (for amounts, etc), but the ingredients and amounts in this recipe sound right. I will post the results after they are made. My two step-daughters are coming over on 11/12/11 to make these and I am looking forward to it. I gave it five stars because it does sound perfect. I love this site because of all the comments - it always helps to see what others think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa in New Orleans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abita Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Masa way too dry. It is the perfect masa recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Being a vegetarian I used soy base chorizo sausage instead of meat. I added onions and cheese to the chorizo and then followed this recipe. My meat eater friends and family couldn't believe the tamales were meatless. P.S. You can buy the vegetarian chorizo at Walmart in the produce section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RVBH62
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I want to give this more stars but I have tried to make it a couple of times and can't get my tamales to come out right, The filling is awesome but constantly having problems with the masa. I will give it 1 more shot but not for awhile since it's very time consuming. My masa seems to be to dry or has texture issues. I wish I knew what was wrong, I have watched enough videos and read reviews for tips but the results are still the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
lovely, simple recipe for a dish people tend to over-complicate. To send this recipe right over the top into Midsummer Treat territory, use the green corn husks from your summertime fresh sweet corn to wrap the tamales. OMG, it makes ALL the difference, lending a unique sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebrites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
i have a serious passion for my friends mom's tamales never been able to get anything like hers athentic granit she is mexican and lived in mexico her whole life i love this recipe i made it to the tee and i swear i think they are better.,... so glad tamales have always been a mystery to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
After reading the mostly great reviews I was very excited, until I ate one after all these hours of preparation. The meat filling was tasty and juicy. It was the dough that was flavorless. I prepared exactly as stated in this recipe. I will not make this again, but at least it gave me a starting point with a good shredded beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
They were great I added cheese while they steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I followed the suggestion to use Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat instead of the recipe's meat recipe. The slow cooker beef was certainly tender enough but lacked almost all flavor. I had to add the recipe's cumin and garlic and oregano and vinegar afterwards to step up the flavor. I'll try the original recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States