Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This recipe is time consuming. VERY time consuming. The corn part of the tomale did not come out well at all. I tried to use shortening instead of lard, as i didnt have any lard on hand, and used the same measurements. Cooked them, and they just fell apart after you unrolled them from the husk. The beef mixture was pretty good tho, and i will try this again with lard to see if it was that or something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn La

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
My 19 year old son and I made these Tamales for Christnas. They were the hit of the holiday! Everyone says they are a lot of work. While I'll admit it's not microwave cooking, they really are fun to make if you love to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I found the masa was without flavor... Needed to add chili to meat when cooking for 3 hours...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This recipe was GREAT! I was finally able to prepare a "traditional" Mexican dish for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
add lots of salt to your masa, it steams off i didnt add enough and it was sort of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
Excellent!!! Takes a long time to make, but well worth it. They will cook better if the dough is about the consistency of peanut butter. I had to add a little more liquid to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
These tamales turned out pretty good- They were a whole lotta work, and the recipe only made 4 dozen tamales, and I even used 5 and 1/2 pounds of meat (pork butts) The filling turned out excellent-but I made 1 and 1/2 times the amount of sauce to simmer the meat in, and I used some chile powder from a local market instead of ancho chiles (they smelled like prunes for some reason) Also, a 8 ounce bag of shucks is plenty! My real problem with this recipe was the masa- It turned out really dry and floury-maybe it was the masa harina that I used, or maybe I didn't add enough broth to the mix. Otherwise this was a great recipe and I will definitely make it again-as soon as I figure out what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This recipe was really good, but it seriously tested by abilities as a cook! It made me appreciate an old friend's mother who used to make these all the time! I really miss them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Very Authenic! A little on the bland side. Spice it up a little and it is Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I used this recipe for the dough only, although I added more broth and warm water. The dough came out way better than that they I've bought already prepared, I will use this dough every year. I will be sending this to my sister to use as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States