Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
These tamales turned out pretty good- They were a whole lotta work, and the recipe only made 4 dozen tamales, and I even used 5 and 1/2 pounds of meat (pork butts) The filling turned out excellent-but I made 1 and 1/2 times the amount of sauce to simmer the meat in, and I used some chile powder from a local market instead of ancho chiles (they smelled like prunes for some reason) Also, a 8 ounce bag of shucks is plenty! My real problem with this recipe was the masa- It turned out really dry and floury-maybe it was the masa harina that I used, or maybe I didn't add enough broth to the mix. Otherwise this was a great recipe and I will definitely make it again-as soon as I figure out what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This recipe was really good, but it seriously tested by abilities as a cook! It made me appreciate an old friend's mother who used to make these all the time! I really miss them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Very Authenic! A little on the bland side. Spice it up a little and it is Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I used this recipe for the dough only, although I added more broth and warm water. The dough came out way better than that they I've bought already prepared, I will use this dough every year. I will be sending this to my sister to use as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Very authentic version. I made extra chile sauce and added some half & half to serve over the tamales. I also substituted shortening for lard and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Substituted the beef with chicken...man oh man, this is an awsome authentic recipe. Perfect gift for the loved ones! ~Maria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This was my first attempt at making Tamales. Instead of combining the masa, lard, and salt myself, I went to the local Hispanic grocery store and bought a 5lb bag of prepared masa. I put 4 1/2 cups of water with the chuck roast. I had 5 cups of beef stock after the roast was cooked. I boiled the stock down to 1 1/2 cups and mixed it in with the prepared masa to get the consistency required. I used a single 8 oz. package of husks with plenty left over. This recipe was not a waste of time. I prefer a little more flavor and a lot more heat than what was in this recipe, but then my wife and son would not have been able to enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
FABULOUS!! Finally I have found THE recipe!! Very easy to make. I couldn't find packaged corn husks, but had the produce man at the grocery store save fresh corn husks for me. They worked out great!! You have to try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
This takes time and patience but is worth it. It is not spicy so it is good for kids to eat too. You do not need 3 - 8 oz. packages of corn husks though. One would have done the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
They turned out great! Making tamales is very time consuming but, this recipe is delicious. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States