Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I loved this recipe! It was a bit time consuming, but well worth the effort. Everybody who tried them loved them, even those who have lived in Mexico for a couple of years. I scaled up the meat part of the recipe to use 6 lbs of rump roast (it was on sale :) and cut back the masa recipe to use 1 lb of lard and 6 cups of the corn meal masa mix. I also boiled down the water the beef cooked in so it would add more flavor to the masa when it was added. I added 2 tsp of salt to this amount of masa, and 1 Tbsp to the meat mix, and it turned out really well. I ended up using 1 8-0z package of corn husks, all of the masa that I had made, and about 1/2 of the meat for about 4 doz tamales. I have the rest of the meat frozen so it will be easier to make next time. I had a big pot and was able to fit all the tamales in (they were a little tightly packed) and steamed them for 2 hours to make sure they were done. The masa turned out nice and light and oh so tasty! Next time I think I'm going to double the amount of ancho chiles used to make them a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
My sister called me to tell me about this recipe.....i checked it out and decided to go to the grocery store to buy the ingredients that i was lacking to make them for dinner that night....I found this recipe to be incredible!!! As well as did my husband,,and he is an extremely picky eater...The recipe was easy to make, just time consuming, but worth the effort and the wait!!!! I couldnt find the peppers called for in the recipe..so i substituted with canned chili's. Im sure that it cut out a little work and didnt seem to alter the flavor!!! We topped the tamales with green chili sauce and also red taco sauce. A compliment to the flavor. Thank You Gloria for a fantastic recipe, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I thought these were excellent! My husband on the other hand, who is very particular when it comes to tamales, said that he didn't like the masa too much... When I asked him why, he just said it didn't taste "right". However, we both agreed that the meat filling tasted great. Making these weren't difficult as I was expecting them to be, time consuming yes, but not difficult. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Gloria I thank you and so does my family, this is something I've been dying to try to make. everyone said that they are hard to make. boy were they wrong!!! You spend more time waiting for the meat to cook or corn husks to soak. and the end result is fantastic! We spiced it up a bit. just because we are more "Tex-Mex". the hotter the better. I will make these again. I followed the recipe to the tee, with the exception of adding more hot spice's to the meat. very very very good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
So good! Everything went real well. I cooked the meat in a crockpot overnight on low. That worked out great. It didn't seem like as much work as it might have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Wow! This is definitely a labor of love. Very time consuming but oh, so good! Next time I will get some of the prep work done ahead of time, like preparing ancho peppers and cooking the meat so I am not in the kitchen all day. I used a pressure cooker for the meat to save time. I served them to company and everyone loved them. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This recipe was great! This was my first time attempting tamales and I was a little worried--they turned out so good. I used Veggie Shortening instead of lard, and my family and I thought they were great. This is definately going to be a "regular" on the menu in my home! I can't wait to try them with different meats/veggies/fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This is a great recipe. I used it when I tried making them my first time. i did find that i had to let them cook a bit longer though than the recipe called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiaReaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alviso, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This recipe looks really good. I use a pork roast instead of beef and they are excellent. Chili goes better with pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
A cultural note for everyone who says the tamale recipes take too long. Traditionally a family will have a "tamalada"- a get together where family will work together assembling the tamales. Making tamales is a time consuming process but when you do it this way, you will have an opportunity to visit with family and develop family bonds. (It is great with friends too...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States