Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
yes, i cook my meat in slow cooker and just enough stock to leave 1/2 inch to over meat. so as not have all the liquied to deal with.The meat has lots moisture that cooks out . Tryed the oil instead of lard. oil sucks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by william beckham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I cut the recipe in half and cooked the meat in the crock pot for a day first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Whew! Finished a day of making these delicious tamales. My husband was in and out all day, so not as much help as I thought I'd have today, but I got it done with great results!! These were really, really good. I feel very proud of myself right now, and all I did was follow a recipe. The flavors in these are wonderful! I do have one question though. Do people really use only 4 lb roast and 9 cups of masa harina for THREE packages of corn husks? I soaked and washed a whole lot more than I needed. The masa mix and the meat mix were spot on, and ran out at the same time. I have no clue what to do with all the extra husks! Thanks for posting. Will definitely make again, only with one package of husks. :) photo of my first batch posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was my first time making tamales, so I'm still learning and would change a few things to the recipe. I looked at a lot of different recipes and decided to add onions to the slow cooker and meat. I wish I had read the 'most helpful review' on here first since I would have added the peppers to the slow cooker since you save the juice to add to the masa for flavor. After reading the review, I did add some taco bell taco sauce inside the tamale to try to add flavor, which might have helped a bit, but the masa was a little more bland than I prefer. I also added the traditional pimento olive, which I love. Overall, they're still pretty tasty but I will probably add some enchilada sauce or something to spice it up. I don't like very spicy foods, but I think more ancho chiles or some spicier chiles may also add more flavor. Glad that I made them, thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
i almost didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Very very good.... BUT, I made some adjustments and it was quicker and tasted just like the tamales that I had in Oaxica, Mexico. * I used ground beef. I added garlic and a small chopped onion. Once cooked and drained-I used a food processor to mince the meat. I stirred in a small jar of stewed peppers. Once the tamales were ready to steam, I put a 9inch aluminum pan (I cut holes in it) inside a large pot. I stood each tamale up and steamed on 'medium' for about 45 minutes. I also drenched 4-5 paper towels on top of the pot, then I put the lid on. Served with crackers and Sirachi hot sauce....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I ADD MERKEN MAPUCHE SPICE. I found the Chilean spice about 2 years ago. It has a slightly smokey chile flavor (similar to ancho chiles). But I added about 3 tbsp to the original recipe and it really adds a wonderful flavor to the meat. I have an Asian bamboo steamer basket set that I stack on to of a large soup pot with a steamer grill at the bottom resting on a standard coffee mug. I am then able to fill the pot with water all of the way up to the top of the mug, then I begin layering the tamales, first on the steamer grill, then in the next three bamboo steamer baskets I have. It allows me to steam an entire batch at once. These are really tasty, can't wait to make them again. P.S. I get the Merken spice online. I can put it on just about everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Used this recipe & Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat for the best Mexican food I've ever made...according to my husband. They were devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Some friends from Mexico several years back, came to our house and taught us to make their families' recipe for tamales. They took great pride in the making of them. We spent most of the entire day in the process; there were plenty for freezing and enjoying later. This recipe is very close but I like more liquid than called for (just makes easier spreading.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katjahefington
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Wow - made these today, but with Pork instead, some with just cheese. Very good and I thought easy to make... Thanks for the recipe and easy instructions. Also, I didn't tie mine, I just folded the bottome end over and stood them up, when steaming the tamales, I did cover the tamales with corn husks while steaming (these were things some of my latina girl friends told me to do :)...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjahefington

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Miguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States