Beef Taco Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was really great... very easy too! I didn't have any flour tortillas so I used 3 cups of elbow macaroni, measured before cooking. It worked well, with a little leftover. I made the recipe for 10 since there were guys over to play guitars and jam a little with my boyfriend. It made ALOT but they devoured it and had 3 bowls each which left just enough for one bowl for myself and a little leftover for lunch. I added chopped onion, chopped garlic, cayenne, and a no salt organic seasoning which I picked up at Costco some time back and this really turned out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This recipe was ok only. I made it as written, but it would need some changes to make it more to my liking. Taco seasoning would help add some zip. My flour tortillas stuck together and gummed up a bit, so I wouldn't add them into the skillet next time. I was thinking that corn tortillas would possibly work better. That being said, my family did eat every bite. I think I may try it again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
this recipie was from a magazine so i was going to add it,but looks like that was already done. but i have to say this recipie is really really good, exept i didnt use tortillas because i thought that they would absorb the soup part and get to soggy. so instead i used tortilla CHIPS. this turned out well. it gave it and extra crunch here and there. i also found that this recipie is easy to eat as a dip sort of thing. i ate it like a dip with the tortilla chips also. all in all i thought this recipie was great and that is the only thing i changed! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I used leftover seasoned taco meat in this recipe, other than that, I made no changes. Good base recipe, next time I'd goose it up a bit with more add-in's. Even with the seasoned taco meat I used, it was still bland. I made little bowls of shredded lettuce, chopped black olives, chopped green onion, diced tomatoes and reduced fat sour cream as toppings for this dish. Each of us was able to top our serving with what we liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Big hit with the family. I also added drained diced tomato and chili beans to bulk it up, and add a bit more protein. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAGRANTROSES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I selected this recipe for a ski trip because it was quick and easy. I used whole wheat tortillas and added a diced onion, some crushed red pepper and several crushed garlic cloves after cooking the meat. Topped with some lite sour cream, shredded romaine and diced tomatoes. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I have been making this for years. It's always a big hit with guys, and it's super quick and easy. If you don't like soggy tortillas then this isn't for you, but personally that's my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Excellent! I added macaroni, taco seasoning and kidney beans. I didn't use tortillas. My husband loved this, it is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I think that this dish is so simple, yet so amazing. For it being so versatile, I keep it simple and stick to the recipe(which is a rarity in and of itself). However, instead of adding the tortilla chips in WITH the Mexican/beef combo yummy stuff, for fear of them getting soggy, I turn this into a dip and let the kids chow down from their own bowls full of it! Delicious and three thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Very good meal. I did add taco seasoning and chili beans as recommended by other cooks. My little spin to the recipe was I took the pieces of flour tortillas and fried them in my deep fryer, mixed, and then put in pyrex for 25 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States