Beef Stroganoff with Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
OK..here's the deal. Please DO NOT use 2 Tbsp. of seasoned salt in this recipe! This has to be a typo. It's so salty you can't eat it. I made this recipe before & caught that mistake the last time, but...this time I was in a hurry & guess what? Poured in the whole amount of seas. salt..oh,yuck! Realized what I did as soon as I poured it in. I didn't want to pitch the whole thing so I tried adding a couple of peeled potatoes to it (supposed to absorb some of the saltiness...it didn't). I was talking to my sister & she suggested pouring all the broth out (just discard it) but not the meat,bacon or veggies & then rinsing all that off & starting over with more broth...it worked!! Only this time, I didn't use any salt at all & cut back on the Worcestershire sauce by 1/2. Perfect! It's a very good recipe if you don't screw it up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This recipe makes a very good stroganoff but because of the extreme sodium and fat content I had to make a few simple adjustments. I used thin sliced round steak which tenderized nicely with the lengthy simmering, only 3 slices bacon and lowfat sour cream and only a little more than half the amount called for. To cut down on the salt, I used low salt beef broth and omitted the seasoned salt alltogether...2 tablespoons is a HUGE amount! I substituted Mrs. Dash garlic and herb blend and added no additional salt. So..minor changes for health reasons and still this had EXCELLENT flavor. I only cook with fresh mushrooms so I used 8oz. of those. Thanks for posting...this truly was the best stroganoff I have ever made. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Lilsis
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Very good. Did make some changes after reading reviews. Used thin sliced round steak strips and tossed them in seasoned flour before browning. The flour at this point thickened the sauce beautifully later in the dish and eliminated the need for cornstarch. Completely left out the seasoning salt and tweaked the spices some, such as adding minced garlic and salt & fresh ground pepper to the bacon, celery and onions while cooking. Also added a little extra dash of worcestershire sauce after adding the fresh mushrooms. Served over egg noodles garnished with some shaved Parmesan Cheese with fresh green beans and seasoned tomato wedges. Made a very nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilsis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I am a guy who loves to cook so I thought I would try this beef stroganoff recipe. It turned out great! My personal modifications worked PERFECTLY!. I used good round steak, threw the cut up chunks in a plastic bag with seasoned flour and coated the meat well. Browned/cooked the meat until it was slightly crispy and the coating was nice and brown. I used fresh "Royale" mushrooms (wonderful!), not canned, cut into small pieces and sauteed separately from the meat. Same with the chopped up onions. Did NOT add (a)the bacon (too salty), (b)corn starch,(c)Worcestershire sauce, or (d)any salt. I used (1)can of Campbell's mushroom soup with (2)cups of water instead of beef broth. After all was ready, following the recipe I found here for times and such, put it all together in a dutch oven and let it simmer. It was still very salty so I added white wine (Chardonnay) until taste evened out the saltiness. Stirred in the sour cream just before serving, again to my own taste. First evening's dinner I used egg noodles and served to dinner guests. They went nuts! Loved it! Second night, used the leftover stroganoff over white rice for myself. Both times it was EXCELLENT! I guarantee this recipe will delight you and your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This was the best beef stroganoff I've ever made. I made 2 changes. First, I coated the beef stew cubes in flour before browning them. That eliminated the need for the cornstarch later on. I also think the flour gives them a nice crunchy, brown coating as well. Second, I left out the seasoning salt altogether. Didn't miss it at all. I think the beef broth has enough salt in it. This definitely is a total keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
OMG! This is so good. I always go by the comments. The comments are what makes this site better than any cookbook. I didn't use any salt, went easy on the bacon and celery, doubled the cornstarch, halved the worcestrieiuilsue(sp?), and used fresh mushrooms. The best ever! Plenty of flavor with no extra salt and I'm a salt-a-holic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This is a good recipe with a great flavor. I used ground beef and that cut the cooking time down to almost nothing. The bacon is great - I have never had a stroganoff quite like this. I'm not sure that sauteing the mushrooms separately did anything for the recipe - at least the way that I made it. If using the stew meat, it probably would make a difference since you would be adding the mushrooms after a lot of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
My family loved this meal when I made it for them. My mom, who doesn't eat large portions, asked for a second helping, and my grandfather, who is a very picky eater, cleaned his plate. I didn't use bacon, but, otherwise, followed the recipe to the letter. I agree with other reviewers that the sauce was a little runny, so next time I will add more cornstarch. In addition, I will use less salt, as it was a little too salty for my liking. All in all, it was easy to make, and I will definitely be making it again. It would be a great recipe to make for company, as you can start it well in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
I made this for our 26th wedding anniversary and it was a hit for the whole family. I don't use wine in my cooking and I was glad to find a good stroganoff recipe that didn't include wine. I, like others, used much less seasoned salt and fresh mushrooms. Very tasty, the bacon gave it an unusual and nice added flavor. We will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Very good! My husband loved it. I only used 1 tbs of seasoning salt instead of the recommended 3.. just seemed too much. I will probably use a bit more corn starch next time I make it as it was a little bit runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States