Beef Stroganoff with Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Wasn't what I expected the sauce was very runny :( I even doubled the cornstarch like one of the reviews had mentioned. It actually tasted better the next day after I put the sauce over the noodles and let it sit overnight, like a tweaked beef and noodles. If I make again, I will add garlic and maybe just 4 oz of sour cream and MORE cornstarch to thicken. and 2 cans of beef broth. In fact I thought it needed more salt added to it and I am not a saltaholic! Will try again, it is always better second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMELLA1010

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
WOW. This was the first time I made this dish and it turned out to be very good and a keeper. I made some adjustments due to the fact that I work till late and did not start cooking till 745pm. I used stew meat that i boiled for 15 minutes (as i was puting away the groceries)it also helped cut back on the cooking time. Then i browned the meat, set it aside. In the same pan i cooked the onion (did not have any celery) and added some garlic as well. once the onions were translucent i added the meat to it. Added 1/3 cup soy sauce, 1/4 cup masala red cooking wine, 1 can beef broth, and 1-1.5 tablespoon of lemon pepper. It gave it a good zing. Then I let the meat and the broth simmer for 20-25 minutes. in the mean time i boiled the pasta and sauted the mushrooms and had my dinner rolls baking. Once the pasta was done, i added the mushrooms to the meat sauce and added the cornstrach mix (2-3 tbspn cornstrach with a little bit of water). Once the sauce was think enough I added the LIGHT sour cream (put a little more than what the recipe called for. Let the sauce simmer for 10 minutes. Served rigt after with a pinch of black pepper on top. My boyfriend liked it very much and had two plates full. His exact comment was "baby this sauce is perfect" and i still have left overs. I liked it very much and will make it again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This was too salty. I even use low sodium beef broth. It was too thick and a little darker then usual. I found with the bacon and oil it was a little heavy and a little greasy. I will probably look for a different recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This recipe is the best!! I get great comments whenever I make is, is WELL worth the little extra time!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This was a great recipe, my whole family loved it! Takes a while to make but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
WAY TO SALTY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This was the best beef stroganoff I've ever made. I made 2 changes. First, I coated the beef stew cubes in flour before browning them. That eliminated the need for the cornstarch later on. I also think the flour gives them a nice crunchy, brown coating as well. Second, I left out the seasoning salt altogether. Didn't miss it at all. I think the beef broth has enough salt in it. This definitely is a total keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This recipe is magnificent! My husband is NEVER one to eat leftovers - this recipe is eaten 2 nights in a row, and has supplanted his chicken cacciatore as his favorite "comfort food. These are the changes I adapted to it though: --I agree that the amount of salt called for is ridiculous, so I cut it to just a dusting over the whole lot in step 2, --added one extra stalk of celery, --cut the bacon and Worcestershire called for by half, --added 2 carrots (diced like the other vegetables), --used 1/2 box of the fresh white mushrooms rather than the canned. --I too, agree that as is, the sauce is a bit runny, so I doubled the cornstarch/cold water mixture. --Oh, and for the beef broth, used the low sodium variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTEXAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This recipe was okay. The sauce was too runny but the beef came out really tender. I might try it again but I'd have to tweak it to get a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
The flavour wasn't great, but it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States