Beef Stroganoff with Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This recipe makes a very good stroganoff but because of the extreme sodium and fat content I had to make a few simple adjustments. I used thin sliced round steak which tenderized nicely with the lengthy simmering, only 3 slices bacon and lowfat sour cream and only a little more than half the amount called for. To cut down on the salt, I used low salt beef broth and omitted the seasoned salt alltogether...2 tablespoons is a HUGE amount! I substituted Mrs. Dash garlic and herb blend and added no additional salt. So..minor changes for health reasons and still this had EXCELLENT flavor. I only cook with fresh mushrooms so I used 8oz. of those. Thanks for posting...this truly was the best stroganoff I have ever made. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Great flavor! I did alter the recipe a bit though. I omitted the celery(we're just not celery people) and after reading all the other reviews I only put in a "shake" of seasoned salt and doubled the amount of cornstarch and water mixture. My husband loved it and even my six year old ate it. Definatly do this one again, but I may cut back on the Worcestershire just a little bit. That's a big flavor and it's kind of over powering...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Great taste.....I agree with the others that it is a little too salty. Should have read the reviews before. I also was SHOCKED at the fat content, so I tried to slim it down a bit by using low fat ingredients and slicing an eye of round steak instead of using the stew meat. The taste was the same. Just skinnier. :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
My husband made this for our family last night. When He asked for bacon I thought..what? Turned out to be the best stroganoff he has made to date, with just a couple changes. He added more spices, no celery and served it over rice rather than noodles. It was bursting with flavor. I recommed you try this one! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Very good! Did not have time to simmer beef, so I prepared it with the onions and celery in the pressure cooker. Preparing beef this way required less beef stock too. My family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
alittle bland going to add somemore spices next time but all in all a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Very good! My husband loved it. I only used 1 tbs of seasoning salt instead of the recommended 3.. just seemed too much. I will probably use a bit more corn starch next time I make it as it was a little bit runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This was good but with the amount of beef broth called for it was more like stroganoff soup. Very tasty but not the typical stroganoff. Quite flavorful. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Good but way too salty and I am a saltaholic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
this recipie call for way to much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States